Umbrella Blocks: I Think I Need More Borders


My four purple umbrella blocks are finished.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

There are three borders.

  • strip of 1 1/2″ squares
  • 2″ purple border
  • 3″ purple/white border

The blocks are up on my design wall (think closet doors, :D ), pinned to a small piece of purple fabric.

All have the same dimensions. 19 1/2″ by 21 1/2″. I have never measured anything as much as I measured these. Every step of the way. I didn’t want to make the mistake of over trimming only to have to retrim the others. So slow going it was.

Now… what to do? Add more borders? Add sashing?

I think I will add a border of white and then a second dark purple border or sashing. I have enough of the purple/white border fabric for two more umbrella blocks. That will move the size from wall hanging to lap quilt.

For the back, I was thinking of one GIANT umbrella. Wonder how that would look.

One thing I have to revisit is how I attached the rick-rack. I am going to go back over the handles with handstitching. Just to make sure it doesn’t curl when washed. So I will do that before the sandwich stage.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby came into the room as I was taking photos. He said, “that is pretty, Donna.”

So with that… the Stamp of Hubby Approval… off I go to try to make it even prettier. :D

Have a safe 4th of July!! Enjoy your holiday.


Linking to…

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/07/we-did-it-wednesday.html

9 comments on “Umbrella Blocks: I Think I Need More Borders

  1. Betty says:

    Your husband has very good taste. I know, he picked you!!! I agree with him. Happy holiday, 4th of July.

    • don_mae says:

      :D

      Aww, how sweet!! You made me blush. (I told hubby what you said. He just smiled. He asks about you all the time.)

      You have a great day too.

  2. Carol says:

    Happy 4th Donna and wonderful Hubby.
    Love the umbrellas. This is such a cute block. With your eye, you will play around until you like it best.
    xx, Carol

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Carol. I think I know how I will proceed. I am excited. I want to finish the quilt so I can look at it. :D

      Hope you and family had a great holiday too.

  3. Belinda says:

    Hi, Donna! I love these blocks and know you will create something extremely beautiful with them. Could you please do a tutorial on how to make the umbrella block? I can see how it’s done, but would like to see one in the construction process in order to get measurements. It looks very easy, but I can’t seem to find this particular pattern anywhere online. Thanks! :)

    • don_mae says:

      OMG!! You are alive!!

      I think of you all the time, wondering if you are getting any sewing time and feeling guilty that I am doing so much sewing. :D I check your blog about once a week. I guess you no longer are loving blogging. Well, I am glad you are still following my blog. So glad you stopped by.

      I have the umbrella pattern. Will send it to you via e-mail. You embellish it however you wish.

      I miss talking to you!!!!!!!!!!!! Take care of yourself.

      • Belinda says:

        I miss talking to you, too! And I think about you a lot as well. Lately, I have been a very, very busy girl, so really don’t have time to blog anymore. I enjoy blogging and would like to get back to it, but life circumstances just don’t allow for the time. When I do have a few minutes, I will send you an e-mail and catch you up on all that is going on. There is a lot to tell, so it may be a lengthy e-mail. ;) Take a break from sewing and get a snack when you sit down to read it. ;)

        I look forward to getting the pattern for the block. Thanks, Donna! :)

  4. Crystal says:

    Hubby sure knows how to get a smile from his Sweetheart.

    Yay Donna’s Husband! :-)

    In the meantime, I’m measuring to determine the best spot to hang the *PURPLE* umbrellas – when you send them! ;-)

    • don_mae says:

      LOL!! It WOULD make a pretty wall hanging, wouldn’t it!! I am adding two more blocks to make it longer. Just went through my purple scraps and picked out the largest pieces.

      I am loving purple more and more. Thanks much.

Leave a Reply

