Recycle #9: From Wool Coat To Felted Handbag


When my dear mother passed away last year one month before her 90th birthday, I got all of her coats. All of them. Furs, leather, cloth and wool. She LOVED nice things and loved to dress up.

For now, they are stored in a closet and I enjoy opening the closet doors to look, touch and admire them. No decisions have been made yet. On what I will do with them. Except for two wool coats. One black and one burgundy. From the wear and tear, it was obvious those two were her favorites. Her Go-To-Coats.

At first, I had them in a pile to donate. They still have a few years of wear left. Then I thought why not recycle them. Yes!! That is what I would do.

So.. I started with the black coat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I removed all buttons and started ripping open the seams taken care not to cut into the leather around the shoulders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I harvested the largest pieces I could. This is one of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And got started machine felting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how it looks now.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sides tucked in so I can see how it will look when sewn. One of my mom’s vintage brooches sits in the center. Hmmm. I may have found a use for one of her many rhinestone jewelry pieces.

I have enough cut wool to make several handbags and clutches. Recycling is fun and GREEN.

What have you recycled lately?

9 comments on “Recycle #9: From Wool Coat To Felted Handbag

  1. That is just beautiful!

  2. Dorothy says:

    I love to recycle. I weave rugs from old jeans and also sweaters and other fabric. My sister and I are currently making pin cushions and decorating them from a big box of old jewlery and nicnacs! Lots of fun to see what we can come up with. Would love to learn more on what you mean by felting your wool and how will you attach all that pretty stuff onto the bag??

  3. don_mae says:

    Thank you, pillowsalamode.

    Hi Dorothy, go here to read about my machine felting. I am just beginning to learn how to do it. Thanks for asking.

    https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/machine-felting-petals-and-leaves-at-play/

  4. Lennette says:

    I absolutely love it Donna!!! How wonderful to take something that your mother loved and re-purpose it to something entirely new that combines something she loved and you love!!!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Lennette.

    I am just about finished with it. I took my time so I could get it right. I haven’t worked much with wool. Except years ago when I made my clothes. So far, I like it.

  6. Lynne Sinan says:

    I am sorry for your loss and have a strong feeling that she was an interesting woman. Perhaps when you repurpose something else of hers, you will give us a little insight into who molded you!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Lynne, I was just thinking of you today, that I hadn’t heard from you in a while. Glad to see your comment. Yes, my mom was a very interesting woman. Very outgoing, friendly, creative. Would give you her last dime. I tear up just thinking about her. I plan on recycling quite a few of her things.

  7. Kokopelli says:

    Oh my, this is not only recycling goodness, but such a wonderful memory of your mom. Love what you did! I also have many clothes of my grandmother and I love to look at them. Reminds me of her.

Leave a Reply

