Three Ticks For My Denim Quilt


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Tick #1: My first time working with denim on a quilt. Oh, what a Hard Head I have!!

Tick #2: Counts as one of my SS Holiday Table Mats.

Tick #3: I get to cross it off my MAY To Do list.


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before deciding to use denim as the backing for my picnic blanket/table topper, I did my research. I wanted to see what pros and cons other quilters had to say about sewing with denim. Most information available was about rag quilts. But they did say new quilters might be intimidated, don’t use batting, would be heavy to manage.

Here’s where my Hard Head got even harder and told me I could do this. I had plans for loops, swirls, even stippling.

I practiced beforehand. On paper to get a feel. And on my sewing machine. The practice ones were so-so. (That should have been my clue.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here I am, ready to free motion quilt.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, the experts were right about two things. I should have left out the batting. No doubt quilting would have been easier. No matter what I tried, the loops and swirls bunched up into a bird’s nest in the back. Tried different types of thread. Different tension settings. Nothing worked. I ended up quilting straight lines. And it was HEAVY!! I used a folding chair on both sides of me to hold the weight. But INTIMIDATED!! Nope. I will try anything. Once. πŸ˜€

I took my quilt for a drive. Here it is keeping my Jeep warm. πŸ˜€

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These shots were taken at my city’s Recreation Park. I saw people sneaking glances at me but they didn’t ask what I was doing. I had planned to tell them I was a newspaper photographer. LOL!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It measures 47″ by 51″. Here’s how I made it.

  • 4″ squares
  • Disappearing 9 patch blocks
  • 6″ navy polka dot borders
  • 3 1/2″ red polka dot bias binding

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really love it.


My next project also uses red, white and blue fabrics. I got all of these on sale at JoAnn’s.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I signed up for a Patriotic Mug Rug Swap in my quilt group. Mail out date was yesterday. Guess I had better get started. Mine will be a day late. πŸ˜€


My charity pillowcase project is still going strong. Batch #4, 12 pillowcases, is finished. I added them to 12 others and mailed off two dozen.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am just thrilled to pieces working on these. I get to use up fabrics just sitting. Fabrics I bought when I was first building my stash and still hadn’t decided what to do with. Sort of purging the stacks. Feels good.

I also collected up dental supplies accumulated over the last few years.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby and I both go to the dentist four times a year and a lot of dental supplies start to collect in those cute Toothy Smiley bags. Only so many toothbrushes and dental floss can a person use. I am donating these to the charity center too. I had intended to donate small tubes of toothpaste from our dentist. Had a boatload of them. Did you know toothpaste has an expiration date? I didn’t. Thank goodness I checked. They had all expired so I trashed them.

Well… got to go. Need to work on my Day Late Patriotic Mug Rug.

What are your plans for the 4th of July?


Linking to…

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/07/02/manic-monday-linky-party-41/

http://www.sew-much-ado.com/2012/06/we-did-it-wednesday_26.html

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/2012/06/linky-party-tueday-20.html

14 comments on “Three Ticks For My Denim Quilt

  1. KipperCat says:

    I’ve always tossed my toothpaste samples in a drawer & pulled one out occasionally. The last one I opened had liquified! It was about 10 years out of date. I did find one that was still good.

    ps Love the quilt!

  2. Lesley says:

    Love your picnic quilt!

  3. Sue Daurio says:

    What a great picnic quilt. Newspaper photographer, loved that πŸ™‚

  4. Betty Lou says:

    Our plans for the 4th? I think we will join you if you are going to use your picnic quilt. It is just darling. I had to really look to see the DNP, somehow it is disguised in the fabrics. Just love it.

  5. Mary says:

    Beautiful quilt!

    I never knew that toothpaste expired. I guess I use it too fast. πŸ˜‰

  6. Lennette says:

    Your denim quilted table cloth is SOOO pretty Donna!!! You constantly amaze and inspire me to step out of my comfort zone because you’re never afraid to tackle anything!!!!!

  7. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone and thank you so much. As you can guess, I love sewing/quilting. I am so glad my friends (Lennette) kept poking me to try it. I do miss working on my other crafts but they can wait. My fabric is calling out the loudest. πŸ˜€

  8. Carol says:

    I don’t have much on a to do list, but I really do want to try a disappearing 9 patch quilt. I have been collecting cupcake fabric and plan it for my daughter.

  9. Kathy says:

    Way to persevere on the picnic quilt – it’s so cheerful and pretty, you’ll enjoy it for years!

  10. April says:

    What a very lovely picnic quilt. It looks very summery and fun.

  11. Connie says:

    Beautiful picnic quilt and I’m glad you kept going with it! It will be perfect for outside. I didn’t realize toothpaste had an expiration date either!
    Thanks for sharing.
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  12. krista says:

    very neat quilt. I’ve never used denim for backing, but I like your “try anything once” attitude! I’m sure it’s super heaviness will come in handy on a cold day πŸ˜€

  13. Cathy Tomm says:

    I love your idea for the picnic quilt. I think denim on the back is a good idea. I will have to try it someday. Maybe for place mats too. I was thinking I might make some place mats.

  14. don_mae says:

    Thanks everyone. I will probably try denim again as a backing. I am a glutton for punishment. πŸ˜€

    I just remembered something. I got all of that denim (almost the whole bolt) for a song and a dance. The JoAnn’s in my neighborhood was closing and everything was marked way down. I paid 25 cents a yard for a bolt of navy wool felt and the denim. That was about 4 years ago. And I am just now using it. LOL!!

Leave a Reply

