Fussy Cut Doggie Obsession


I guess you could say I have gone to the dogs. 😀 I have been working on several fussy cut zippered bags with doggie faces.

This one I am calling One Finger Zippy. You can carry it on your finger. Hook it to your belt. Large enough for small coins, a bit of folding money, credit card, driver’s license.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Or wear it around your neck. Perfect for quick errands, walking around the neighborhood, jogging. It measures 3 1/2″ by 6 3/4″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made a larger zippered bag to go with little One Finger Zippy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And Ta-Dah…… the complete set.  These new ones go with the grommet handbag I showed you a couple days ago.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had a hard time photographing brown. Had to retake them several times. Hope you can see them ok.


In case you would like to make your own zippered bag, this is how I made the middle sized one.

First, fussy cut something cute and adorable. Next, select a few fabrics to mix or match the fussy cut fabric. I used my scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before sewing, I laid out how I wanted the front to look.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And then I quilted each fabric scrap as I added it. The Quilt As You Go method. I love QAYG. I can do what I want by section and not have a bunch of thread ends to bury later. I used vertical, horizontal and diagonal straight lines plus stippling.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The back and lining are easy. Just measure the front and cut the back and lining the same size. You can see what I used here in the photos where I have the zipper pinned.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If desired, add a carrying strap on the side before sewing all around.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s one in red, black and white. I am in LOVE with it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Basically, the majority of little zippered clutch/cosmetic bags are made the same. Once you make one, the rest are easy.

Well, that is all I have to show you today. Hope you have enjoyed seeing my latest creations.


One Finger Zippy is an original design created by This Year’s Dozen. Please respect copyright laws and do not distribute or copy the design. I will have a pattern available soon. Thanks!!


Linking to…

http://www.confessionsofafabricaddict.blogspot.com/2012/06/can-i-get-whoop-whoop-summer-project.html

8 comments on “Fussy Cut Doggie Obsession

  1. Missy says:

    What a cute idea, and I love the whole set!

  2. Lennette says:

    The whole set is wonderful!!!!

  3. Sharon B says:

    Cute – can’t wait for the one zippy pattern!

  4. Charlotte says:

    Can’t wait for the pattern. Love, love the set especially the red/black.

  5. Connie says:

    How cute! Love how the brown ones match your tote! Thanks for sharing the great tutorial too!
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. Carol says:

    Hi Donna
    That little finger bag is a really good idea. I think it would be a safe way to carry cash when garage saling or shopping at flea markets. What a creative and useful idea.

  7. Crystal says:

    What Carol said! 😀
    Such a cute idea, Donna. And terrific photo showing the 3-pc set!
    All your work re-taking the photo really paid off 🙂

  8. cliodana says:

    beautiful, love the dogs and the quilting, wonderful pouch

Leave a Reply

