Grommet Handbag Finished… Yay!!


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, finally I can show you my handbag with grommets. One of the “list” to-do’s. The reason it took so long was due to my daily panic attacks. I wanted to get it finished, but the What If’s beat me down.

On DAY 6, after hubby casually said, “You haven’t finished that YET.” I bit the bullet, picked up the scissors, took a deep breath and cut. One inch holes. Into my just finished handbag. In my mind, I was hoping and wishing. Hoping I didn’t make a boo-boo on the hole sizing. Wishing I could be finished already. 😀

Adding grommets is kind of scary, no? You spend hours (days) making something only to take the scissors to it and cut out holes. Huh!! Does that make any sense!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But I am all good. Over the fear of “what if” and the unknown. It wasn’t so bad. A lot of measuring and marking. I didn’t take any photos of the measuring and marking. Only because it kept changing. And then finally I decided on THE SPOT to cut. Picked up the scissors and punched a hole.

I think they look great. For my first try. I even pried off one by sticking a flat screwdriver into the slot and wiggled it off. Then I snapped the grommet back in place. It worked!! I wanted to see for myself what the instructions said would happen. They were 100% correct. I am really pleased. I now have a new Go-To-Embellishment.

It measures 16″ L, 13″ H and 4″ W.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I don’t have a name for it. Maybe Tall Drink-of-Water. It is kind of tall. I’ll have to think of something clever for when I list it on Etsy.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Fully lined, one inside pocket, one outside pocket, magnetic closure. Nice and sturdy. Fusible fleece ironed to outside fabrics, pellon ironed to the lining, double panel of heavy pellon stitched to the bottom bed. Fusible fleece in the straps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Straps are adjustable. Two handles or one long strap over the neck.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

From this..

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To this.. No pattern. My own design and creation.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Yay!! One more project completed. Picking up my pen. Crossing Handbag with Grommets off the list. I will keep working on the MAY List until they are either finished or progress made.

Well, that does it for me. I have enjoyed making this handbag. BROWN!! You know how much I love brown!! And polka dots.

Come back tomorrow to see what else I have been working on. Don’t change that channel!!

10 comments on “Grommet Handbag Finished… Yay!!

  1. Carol says:

    I think its SUPER Great. I love it and aren’t you embarassed that you were scared to cut! ~lol~
    Donna can do no wrong..
    xx, Carol

  2. Margaret says:

    Congratulations on a job well done. It looks awesome and grommets are so fun to do.

  3. So adorable. I love bags, but have yet to make my own.

  4. Love the bag, you do awesome work and it so inspires me

  5. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna!!! You did such an amazing job!!!!!

  6. Souvenir ecológico says:

    Lovely. I like it very much.

  7. Lesley says:

    Love your tote! The design is wonderful. I bought grommets to use in a bag and have also been afraid to use them! Guess I will feel the fear and do it anyway!

  8. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone, for your wonderful comments on my new handbag. I had butterflies in my stomach the whole time I was adding the grommets. Hopefully the next time will be easier.

    Lesley, yes, do go ahead and do it. Measure and mark carefully. I measured and marked each side before doing any cutting. Good luck!!

  9. Connie says:

    Beautiful! I love the colors, reminds me of coffee! It can be scary the first time putting on grommets…..actually anytime……….you cut a hole in a finished project! Thanks for sharing!
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  10. selina says:

    Still haven’t had the nerve to use the grommets. Bought all the parts over a year ago. Seeing yours may give me the shove I need.

Leave a Reply

