Look What’s New At My House


Fusible Fleece.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t immediately run out to buy it after reading that quite a few quilters were using it to sturdy up their handbags. I resisted and continued using regular batting and thin interfacing. But curiosity got the better of me. So, when JoAnn’s mailed me a 50% off coupon, I knew what I would use it for. I got five yards. 7.99 a yard regular price. I haven’t used it yet to see if I like it but plan to in the next few days.


Zippers, Zippers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

75 of them. Got them in the mail a few days ago. Purchased from an eBay seller. Are you seeing lots of little zippered bags? Me, too!! I only bought 7″ and 8″. If these work out, then that seller will have me as a regular customer.


Isn’t this the cutest little mug?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, huge actually.. but I call everything “cute and little.” 😀 It is humongous and is similar to the black one I bought last year. Except for the size of the white dots. Now I have two.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Didn’t see any other colors. Maybe next year I will find one in a different color. It was half off. Don’t you just love JoAnn’s half off sales!!


Update on my pillowcases for charity

I am still making them. Nine more finished. I am WAYYYY ahead of myself.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Elephants…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Circles and dots…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am committed to making one pillowcase a day, Monday through Friday. 5 a week. 20 a month. Schedule-wise, I am into next week. Yay on ME!!

And I am doing a bit of sewing for myself, too. I have a new handbag and matching zippered clutch almost finished. Just need to stitch up the bottom of the lining and decide if I want top stitching. Hopefully will be able to show you tomorrow.

Here’s a question for you quilters out there.

Have you used fusible fleece and do you like it? Any tips? Is it true after ironing it on you have to let it cool for 30 minutes before handling? I read that somewhere. Can’t remember where.

Well, that does it for me. Thanks in advance for your help.

What crafting are you doing?

5 comments on “Look What’s New At My House

  1. Carol says:

    The pillowcases are an ambitious commitment, but easy to stitch up. I admire your dedication, and they are lovely. You certainly have an eye for color. I’ll be interested to read comments about the fleece.

  2. Margaret says:

    I use the fusible fleece all the time for my handbags. You just have to let it cool for a few minutes. It will be too hot to handle otherwise. Be sure to have the ruff side with glue facing up then put your fabric on top with right side up and press. Don’t slide your iron. Lift and press. I hold for the count of seven and then move to a new spot. I start on one side and move to the other. You will like it.

  3. sonnethawk says:

    The pillow cases are really beautiful, vibrant and colorful! Nice job! It’s great that you found a worth while project for charity. I know the recipients will be well pleased!

  4. sonnethawk says:

    I am crocheting a reversible lapghan. I found the pattern on Red Heart’s web site.
    I forgot to tell you. We are going to have a new JoAnn’s Craft and Fabric Store opening in our city the year. I think the opening is scheduled for late summer. I am hoping they will have a nice selection of Macrame yarn. :<)

  5. Shayla Sharp says:

    I’ve used that same fusible fleece for toys (just did a pink hippo at Christmas) and am using it on some Frosted Pumpkin zippered Hoop Bags. I haven’t ever tried washing it, but on what I’ve used it for its worked great–have fun!

Leave a Reply

