Testing… Testing… A New Macrame Basket


Got another macrame order. And this time it was something I hadn’t made before. Similar to it but not exactly.

So… as I usually do, I made a test one first. That way I know whether to cut the cords longer or shorter when I make the REAL one. It measures 11″ height with the handle and 12″ diameter.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It is going to be an Easter Basket. In pink with different colored beads. If I have time, I may make the basket in purple.

My test one is in beige 6mm braided macrame cord. Here are two of my birds resting comfortably, hiding in the branches. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is how I made the bottom. I strayed a bit from the pattern my buyer sent me. I used this method instead. My own design.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will be macraming all day today. Need to get the pink basket made and shipped by tomorrow. Just in time for Easter.


Linking up to…

http://conniekresin.blogspot.com/p/linky-party-tuesdays.html

http://sewhappygeek.co.uk/index.php/2012/04/02/manic-monday-linky-party-31/

13 comments on “Testing… Testing… A New Macrame Basket

  1. memme says:

    what about the pile of cords in the bottom?

  2. abbie2001 says:

    I love the basket! I would like to have one in a golden brown color. I could put it on my dining room table and change the flowers in it according to the time of year.

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Abbie!! I have an idea to combine macrame with my quilting. Working out the details in my head.

      • abbie2001 says:

        You can do like that famous brand of baskets and make liners for your macrame ones. Different colors for different seasons, holidays, or just because.

  3. don_mae says:

    That is exactly what I was thinking!! Great minds……

  4. gabrielaquintana says:

    oooh macrame is back! I’m sooooooooooo happy! hahaha

  5. sidecapersmacrame says:

    Is there a ring used for the top rim, just under the handle? I really like the look of it.
    Great Job!

  6. Joanie says:

    Where can I get the pattern?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there, I have it around here somewhere. If I can find it, I will e-mail it. Thanks for the question.

Leave a Reply

