My Week With Seed Beads


Inspired by this wrap bangle bracelet I made for the Bead Soup Blog Hop, I spent a full week working with my seed bead stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep, I actually did not pick up my rotary cutter for a whole seven days. Just sat and sat and beaded.

First I made this bracelet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And then this one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had Brides and the “I Do” Season on my mind when I created this one. Even dragged out my button stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I circled back to the bracelet that started it all. I added a second peyote bail to it. Loving it even more now.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I think I was probably into Day 3 when I created this red, white and blue one. Still not ready to go back to sewing/quilting.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And more…..

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.comImage Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BTW, you won’t believe the number of empty bead vials I ended up with. There were even more but I tossed a few.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made little containers of “bead soup” by combining my 11/0 seed beads by colorways. Whatever I thought would look good together got emptied into the bowl. What a great way to use up leftovers from other projects!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After making this green, gray and black bracelet, I had an idea for a necklace.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But I couldn’t decide on how to end it. What type clasp to use. I chewed on several ideas and one day when running errands, I remembered these barrel tube clasps I bought a few years ago but never tried.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Bingo!! It worked. I am just thrilled to pieces how this came out. No matter that this necklace and bracelet took 24 hours to make. I love it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As it turned out, My Week With Seed Beads ended with that necklace. I had a crochet order (which you saw) that I needed to work on. So sadly, I pushed my beads aside. Now, observe how I said that. “Pushed” aside. Not PUT AWAY.

If in a week I don’t have a desire to bead something, then I will dust cover my bead supplies until the next time. Hopefully it won’t be for too long. Need to show all of my crafts some love from time to time. 😀

After all, these pearls and jade beads are waiting to be made into a necklace.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My favorite. Yellow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby’s favorite. Bronze.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had fun designing and creating them.


These wrap bangle bracelets and wrap necklace are This Year’s Dozen originals.

Please respect Copyright Laws. Do not distribute, copy or post on the Internet without written permission. Thanks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

12 comments on “My Week With Seed Beads

  1. Keene Carol says:

    OMG!!! I love every single one of them! You are (expletive) amazing!

  2. […] /* */ My Week With Seed Beads […]

  3. Crystal says:

    The girl who usually loves all things purple (me!) agrees with your hubby!
    I love the bronze, best! 🙂

    How do the bracelets fasten under the peyote? Lobster claw clasp? Or are they done on memory wire? They’re so pretty!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Crystal, thanks much.

      Hubby also likes the green necklace and bracelet set. He changes up every time he comes in here. LOL!!

      No clasp on the bracelets. No memory wire either.

      Just carefully draped around and around my hand trying to balance the look of beads all around. I just keep at it starting at different points until I get the “wrapped look” I want. Then I sew in place the peyote bails. I am making the inside diameter like a normal bangle you would find in the stores. Just wide enough so it doesn’t fall off but you do have to ease it on and off.

      Do you have any small seed beads? 11/0 works best. But I did toss in a few leftover 10/0’s I had.

      Wait until you see the purple and lime hexagon hot pad I made. 😀

  4. Deb says:

    These are gorgeous! And the necklace is stunning! Are you using memory wire for the bangles? I need to make one of these for myself. 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, thank you so much.

      Regarding the memory wire… see my above response to Crystal.

      I used Soft Flex for the first bracelet but it was so expensive that I switched to Beadalon. I tried different diameters. .012, .015, .018. I like #12 best if I am using pearls and #15 if no pearls. Whatever wire you use, test it first with the beads you plan to end the bracelet with. TWO wires will go through the end sections, left and right. Where it will be crimped.

      Look at this photo. It shows how I am making the bracelet.

      If you make one…. test the ends AFTER you crimp and before cutting the wire. Give it a giant sized tug. Don’t be surprised if it pulls apart and you have to fix it and recrimp. Don’t use a crimp with a wide mouth nor one with a small mouth. Experiment to see which size crimp holds best. You should be able to pull on both sides without the wire sliding out of the beads. 😀

      • Deb says:

        Thanks for the info Donna. 🙂 I think I’ve got everything I need to do these already- I’ll have to double check the wire I have to make sure I can fit it thru the beads twice though. (Its nice having been a bead and supply buying addict once upon a time- seems like I have most things I need already!)

  5. Melody says:

    Your bracelets are really cool. Are you in Michigan? Do you teach?

  6. Wow! I love these bracelets!

  7. […] /* */ Beaded jewelry – beaded broochbead crochet jewelry book — Crochet ConcupiscenceJewelry PliersMy Week With Seed Beads […]

Leave a Reply

