“So…. You Are Crocheting NOW?”


This is going to be an interesting month!!

It started off with me getting a bead order. Then I got a crochet order. Then a macrame order.

I think you get the picture with me wishing for an extra pair of hands and trying to switch crafts by the hour. And poor hubby. He is having the hardest time pretending to be interested in what happens in my craft room.

He said yesterday, “So… you are crocheting NOW?” I don’t know if that was a question or what it was. Probably just an observation comment. Well, that is good, isn’t it? That he notices when I switch up crafts.

The beading order was a bit challenging. Sit a spell, try one idea, then another, keep going until you have something pleasing to the eye. The macrame order will be super easy once I get started. The cord is cut and hanging patiently from a hook. I think I can tie knots blindfolded.

But what about the crochet order, you ask?

One word. Awful!! It’s been about 18 months since I crocheted anything.

I didn’t even remember how to make a SLIP KNOT. Now that is bad, bad, bad!! My mind drew a blank. I had to dig out my crochet pattern books and then went off in search of a You Tube video. Something like Crochet For Dummies. 😀 Something geared to the spanking brand new crocheter. After several false starts and four hours later, this is what I managed. Thank goodness yarn is easy to rip out.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now… if I could just stay awake long enough to finish this. 😀

It is going to be a sunbonnet potholder. Need to make two exactly like this and stitch them together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Like this one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Do you fall asleep when you crochet?


Go here to make your own sunbonnet potholder. I didn’t do all the bells and whistles. Just simple and easy after making the sunbonnet.

http://www.craftown.com/crochet/pat12.htm

12 comments on ““So…. You Are Crocheting NOW?”

  1. busymomhelp says:

    It looks great. I am always on a hunt for crocheting ideas. No, I do not fall asleep, when I crochet, But, once I do fall asleep after crocheting, I keep dreaming of it 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there, I do that too!! Whatever I make last before falling off to sleep, that is what I dream of. And sometimes I figure out a solution in my sleep and jump up to either try it or jot it down.

      I forgot to post the link to the sunbonnet potholder. I am adding it now.

      Thanks for the comment. 😀

  2. gabrielaquintana says:

    yesssssssssss crochet is back!!!
    I m waiting for more macrame! 🙂

  3. Jess in Tyler, TX says:

    Oh My! That is a SUPER WONDERFUL potholder! 😉
    And, you do, do excellent work!!!

  4. Crystal says:

    Hey, there’s an old favorite!
    Loved that pot holder when you first made it. 🙂

    How appropriate to be making another little sunbonnet on the first day of spring!

    I don’t fall asleep while crocheting, but it can make you tired especially if using a pattern that needs to be checked frequently as you work.

    And three cheers for hubby’s interest! 😀

    • don_mae says:

      Ha!! That purple got your attention, eh.

      The pattern I am following changes every second. It is so bad that not only do I have to use a sticky note to keep my place, I have to underline the stitches as I make them. But I did manage to make two sunbonnets and stitch them together. Making some progress!!

      Thanks!!

  5. Connie says:

    How beautiful! I used to crochet years ago and never fell asleep but I probably would now! Thanks for sharing!
    Quilting at the River Linky Party Tuesday

  6. mycraftcave says:

    hi there
    i love your blog.
    have you tried the new knook yet? knit and crochet hook in one. I crochet but don’t know how to knit. this could be a good invention for me? i don’t know anyone that’s tried it yet.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi there, no I haven’t. I will have to search for it and take a look. Thanks so much for commenting and reading my blog.

  7. don_mae says:

    Thanks everyone for your comments. Appreciate it.

  8. Kimberly says:

    Cute!
    I’m having a “Yarn” series on my blog now and have a link party I’d love for you to check out!
    Yarn it all! Link PartyI’d love for you to come by and check it out!

  9. busymomhelp says:

    Thank you for the link. I’ll try to make one. It’s really cute

Leave a Reply

