Brown Bag Boomerangs Home


Two weeks ago I blogged about the Brown Bag project I signed up for in my Quilt Group. The project was simple. Gather up a bag of remnants and/or scraps. Mail them to your assigned partner. Your partner would make something from your scraps and mail the item(s) back to you.

I received my Brown Bag item back yesterday. I was so excited, I ripped open the box as I walked up the stairs. Never even sat the box down!! I kind of guessed it would be a purse. Handbag of some type. And I was right!!

First off, this is the scrap bundle I sent.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The umbrella fabric I bought last year and kept auditioning it with other fabrics but never quite got around to making anything with it. So sneaky me decided to see what my Brown Bag Partner would do with it. I threw in several other fabrics I thought would blend with the colors in the umbrella fabric. A collection of brown, peach, orange and turquoise.

This is what she made for me. A handbag/tote. Beautiful Cathedral Windows block on point in the center.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t take any photos of the inside but she used light peach and made two large pockets from two different fabrics.

Here is the back. The umbrella fabric with a light peach outside pocket. She added a cute decorative button.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Look at the piecework along the bottom. Bringing in the other fabrics. It’s the same along the top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And you know how much I love polka dots. And BROWN!! Straps are long enough for me to carry on my shoulder.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here’s a sideview. It measures 18″ by 15″, 1 1/2″ wide.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Can’t wait until summer arrives bringing with it lots of warm weather. It will soon be OK to wear white again. (Yep, I am one of those. Drilled into the brain by dear old Mom. No white until summer!!) I already have two outfits picked out in my head. One in white and one in brown. Think cropped pants and sandals. And carrying my new handbag.

So pretty. And well made. Oh, I forgot to mention. The moss green around the “window” sections was my partner’s contribution. She could add one fabric of her choosing. It is the perfect color to bring all the fabrics together.

And the quilting… notice how she started from each corner and fanned up to the brown polka dot border of the window block. Really cool!! The back was quilted with a one inch diagonal grid.

Thank you so much, Nancy!! I LOVE IT!!


Go here to see what I made and sent back.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/wish-i-could-keep-you-but-you-have-to-go-home/

8 comments on “Brown Bag Boomerangs Home

  1. Carol says:

    Very nice. I love that parasol fabric.

  2. Betty says:

    WOW! The bags are beautiful. I would like to purchase one.

    Betty

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty, maybe Nancy will see your comment and e-mail you. I will also let her know of your comment. Thanks!!

  3. Fran says:

    Donna what a darling bag. Love that parasol fabric and the coordinating ones also. WOW

  4. Linda B. says:

    Very nice bag Donna..I can just see you strutting along carrying it for everyone to see!! I know Nancy does beautiful work!! I was the lucky person she sent to last year. Linda B.

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks so much for your comments. Doing the Brown Bag project was fun and different. My 1st time doing something like this. Hope we do it again.

    (Hi Fran. Hi Linda. Thanks for stopping by. They are from my Quilt Group.)

    Hi Carol!! Can’t leave you out!! 😀

  6. Saw your post on seehappygeek and decided to check you out. I will definitely follow your site in the future!! Loved your tutorials & especially appreciate your varied interests!! Happy sewing & crafting!!!

Leave a Reply

