5 Years And Hardly Know You


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the last few days I have been reading my Janome 10001 Memory Craft sewing machine manual and watching the video that came with it. I know I watched the video 5 years ago but some of the bells and whistles are just becoming clearer and making sense now.

First off, I have been saying Janome all wrong. I had been pronouncing it Ja (like you would start off saying jug), NO, Me. That is not how they say it at all. In the video it sounds like they are saying Ja (like jaw) No May.

The reason I dusted off the manual was because I wanted to know more about the twin needle function. How to thread, what to use it for. Also I wanted to know how to download embroidery patterns.

Along the way, I found out I could blanket stitch applique pieces. Even found out I could lock stitch the last stitches when I come to the end. I had been backstitching and sometimes making a bunched up mess. I spent quite a bit of time experimenting with my embroidery screen prompts. My machine can do WAY MORE than I thought.

If you are like me, reading a manual to ANYTHING is right up there with scheduling a root canal. I Hate It!! But usually after finally taking the time, it ends up being so worth it. Time well spent. Hopefully I will be showing you some of my newly learned knowledge soon.

And time to dust these off too. I bought all of this embroidery stuff when I bought my sewing machine. I made a couple of practice pieces and used the Sulky spray adhesive. The rest… just collecting dust… somewhere. Got to go find them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


How about you? What did you “wing” and not bother reading the manual? Did you ever go back to read it?

10 comments on “5 Years And Hardly Know You

  1. Dorothy says:

    I have a simple table top loom that I have been weaving runners and small rugs on for 5 years. I am now taking a class at the local college and am just amazed every day what I can do with this little loom! I have a blog site devoted to my little book store and my weaving. I am 65 but have loved learning new things!

    • don_mae says:

      Don’t you just love it!! Learning new things. I am two years older than you and love trying new things. It keeps us young, eh..

  2. Betty says:

    Hi Donna

    Did you find any thing in your book on making tote bags?

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty, how the heck are you!!

      Not in my sewing machine manual but I have LOTS of patterns for quilted totes and handbags. I plan to make up a few in the next couple of months. Stay tuned. 😀

  3. Shan says:

    LOL! I’m with you on reading manuals! Things should be intuitive, shouldn’t they? We have a DVD that we got for our electronic keyboard…I’ll never LIVE long enough to figure out what all that little sucker can do!

    • don_mae says:

      Hubby is good at winging it… for everything.. sometimes with good results and sometimes NOT!! He drives me crazy and you know that’s a short trip.

      Hope you are doing well. I miss talking to you. 😀

  4. Jude says:

    I’m one of those read-the-manual-first types mainly because I’m curious to know what a new toy can be used to do. Happy playing, Donna. Let’s see some more clever stuff coming out of your Happy Room. 😀

    • don_mae says:

      I know!! You do, don’t you!! I remember how you went page by page on your photo editing manual and learned all sorts of stuff. I wish I had the patience. When I get to the head-scratching parts, I put the book down. 😀

      New stuff coming up soon.

  5. Belinda says:

    Donna, I read my manual to my Janome first, then watched the video, then played with the machine. Mine is a 10,000 upgraded to be a 10,001, so we basically have the same machine. It is a fun machine that can do a lot! Have fun with it.

    I can’t wait to see what you create next! 🙂

  6. Well, I have a Viking. When I bought it, the quilt shop offered free classes of instruction on how to operate it. Time very well spent.

    Now my serger, well that’s a whole nuther story.
    xx, Carol

Leave a Reply

