Looking Back… 2011 In Photos


(Update Jan 8, 2012. DeeDee wins the “count” giveaway. See my post announcing the winner. Thanks.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It’s been exactly one year since I first learned to quilt. You can see my post here.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/finally-gonna-learn-to-quilt-yay/

The sewing part was easy. I had been sewing since I was a teenager. Many moons ago. The quilting part, uh well, that wasn’t so easy. Fear of cutting off my hand gave me lots of pause moments. And second was the mystery of all the different feet attachments to my “dust collecting” sewing machine.

But thanks to quilt books and magazines, the net, especially You Tube, I managed to quilt quite a few things over the last 12 months.

I wanted to capture 2011 in photos for my records. So next year, hopefully I can look back at the beginning to gauge how far I progressed. I will show you the most memorable First’s. And then you will see “collections” of things I made. I tried to put them in groups to reduce the number of photos.

OK.. Ready?

My Walk Down 2011’s Quilting Lane.

First item made. Folded Star Trivet.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/my-first-quilted-item-is-finished/

First finished quilt top. Drunkard’s Path blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/crossing-the-border-and-mitered-corners/

First item quilted. Dresden Plate Wall Hanging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/04/08/dresden-plate-wall-hanging-is-finished/

My Proudest Moments.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/bittersweet-quilting-for-quilt-1-is-done/

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/fruit-of-my-labor/

And….

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/quilt-top-2-finished/


And now, on with The SHOW!! 2011 In Photos…

Novelty Fabrics.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Doll quilts and pillows.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More doll pillows and bedding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Mug rugs, table mats, play mats.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Table runners.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Pillow covers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Odd and ends.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilts/Quilt Tops.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The LAST items made.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And who can forget all those 4 1/2″ scrap blocks!! I made 338 of them. And used up quite a few.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It was a very productive year!!

How productive?

I will let you guess. Not counting the individual scrap blocks, can you guess how many sewing/quilting items I made in 2011?

The 1st person to guess correctly (or coming the closest) wins a prize. I will select one of my handcrafted items and mail it off to you.

How many sewing/quilting items did I make in 2011? Post your answer in comments. Thanks much!!

18 comments on “Looking Back… 2011 In Photos

  1. DeeDee says:

    I guess that you made 175 sewing/quilting items in 2011.

  2. Brandy MIrly says:

    I’m voting for 133 items!

    You were QUITE productive for it being your first year in quilting… GREAT!!!!!

    🙂

  3. Its hard to believe that you are a somewhat novice quilter. Your work is stunning and well contructed. It seems that you conquer whatever you set out to do. I admire your creativity and productivity. Onward and upward, huh!
    xx, Carol

  4. Paula Lee M. says:

    I venture you made close to 240 pieces this year. Where do you get the energy and the time! I bet you stay up late some nights! I have had a great time following you through your quilting journey. You do beuatiful work, keep the creative juices flowing.
    Paula Lee M.

  5. SideCapers says:

    My guess is 125 different items in 2011.
    It amazes me the room you must have to make and store these items. I work out of a 9″ x 12″ room and I am moving and repositioning things as I go. It has been fun seeing your posts each morning. I started getting them from macrame, then jewelry and beads and now quilting. Great job on a year well done.

  6. Dorothy says:

    I will guess 150 items. You have been amazing for a first year quilter. I am a beginner now and hope to make some pretty things this year. Thanks for your inspiration. Keep going girl!

  7. Gosh, thanks for the reminder. I forgot to enter my guess in my comment!

    I gues 312 pcs created in 2011, if not more!

  8. Blueknitter4u says:

    I guess 75 pieces

  9. teresa curtis says:

    222 Lucky number two?

  10. Wehaf says:

    I guess 313!

  11. Holly Schilling says:

    156

  12. don_mae says:

    DeeDee wins the “Count” giveaway. See my post announcing the winner.

  13. Crystal says:

    Whatever the total number – it’s a fabulous assortment of color and creativity!
    Well done, Lady! 😀 xo

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks much, Crystal. I won’t have as many for this year, don’t think. I am going to focus on more challenging blocks.

  14. Robin Burgess says:

    Wow, what a beautiful array of creative items you have produced in one year! I’m so impressed! I counted well over 500, assuming that each item in the pictures were not shown more than once. Based on that assumption, my guess is 533. Regardless, you deserve a vacation! 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Robin and thank you for your wonderful comment. I like “heavy photo” posts so usually I will take lots of photos of the same item. I made 184 items last year. (DeeDee won my giveaway. She came closest with her guess of 175.)

      Regarding taking a vacation…… I guess you could say I already took one. I am sewing today for the first time this year. Working on my very colorful (think BUSY, LOL!!) quilt.

      Thanks again.

  15. Betty says:

    WOW What a wonderful talent you have! I am back online so I hope to keep up with what is going on,

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Betty, I didn’t know you were off-line. What happened? I got your voice mail message yesterday. Will be calling you soon. 😀

Leave a Reply

