My “Christmasy” Red Hot Chili Peppers Quilt


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It sorta looks like Christmas… Not Christmas fabric but the red, green and white makes it seem so.

Just finished making this spool block mini quilt top this morning. This is my 2nd spool block quilt. I am still practicing, improving my skills so when I go to make the “big one” I will have ironed out all the kinks.

I already showed you the 4 1/2″ scrap blocks I made last month. So after deciding on which other fabrics to use, I got started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

First. String sewed the sides.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next. Added the spool tops and bottoms.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I added additional tops and side sashing to balance out the spools.

The look went from this…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t this much better? Not chopped off looking.

And I wanted LOTS of borders. Even thought about five. But just went with three. Green tonal from Arbor Lane Quilt of the Month Series.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And cranberry with tiny white stars.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This will be the binding (unless I change my mind) when I get to that step.

White with black speckles.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Right now as I type this (I am taking a break), I am thinking about how to make the back. Probably wide rectangular strips using some of the fabrics used for the top.

More to follow. You will have to check back for the finished quilt. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

5 comments on “My “Christmasy” Red Hot Chili Peppers Quilt

  1. Brandy MIrly says:

    I love how this quilt is very “christmas-y,” but isn’t so blatant about it. It’s all about the feel and interpretation of the fabrics. It’s beautiful!

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Brandy.

      I worked more on it this evening. The back is done and now I just have to quilt it. I am hoping to have it completely finished Friday evening or Saturday morning. I hope you will come back to see it. 😀

  2. Lennette says:

    Ohhh that’s so pretty Donna!!!

  3. Carol says:

    Hi Donna
    It does look Christmasy, but that’s OK. My favorite quilt is red flowers with green vines and it looks like a Christmas quilt. Its still my go-to when I want to wrap up.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. don_mae says:

    Thank you, Lennette. Thank you, Carol. 😀

    I was just about finished quilting my quilt. I was so tired but tried to work on it anyway. I fell asleep, knocked out the needle, it broke. LOL!! I knew it was time for a nap. Up now, ready to finish.

Leave a Reply

