Need To Make A Quick Gift? There’s Still Time…


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Got guests coming? Long lost relatives popping up? Unexpected party to go to?

No problem. I made this table topper in one afternoon.

Start by going to Moda Bake Shop for the “recipe.”

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2010/05/christmas-packages.html

These blocks are really easy to make. I made four.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next you decide on a layout.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I liked the openness of the second one best. In my mind I could see a centerpiece in the middle.

Sandwich the layers. Back, batting and top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I tried something new for the quilting. Just teardrop loops. Three of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Started with the smallest teardrop. Then went around it. And once more, for three. You can see where I goofed on the first block. And the next ones didn’t get any better either!! 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My lines aren’t the straightest but I was using my free motion quilting foot. It looks a MESS but I LOVE IT!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next… I decided on rounded corners (think bias binding). You can decide which way you want to finish yours off.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before sewing on the bias binding (I machine stitched it front and back), I did a quick squiggly line along the edge of the quilt. To tame the ruffliness caused by the teardrops pulling in a bit. You can see the squiggly line in this photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And DONE!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I can add my centerpiece.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BTW, can you guess how long I have had this Christmas centerpiece? I made it during my floral crafting days back in the early 80’s. Every year I drag it out of its storage place and display it.

OK… now it’s your turn. Try it. And don’t worry if the teardrop curves don’t perfectly curve. From afar it will look perfect. The person who gets it will LOVE IT!!

7 comments on “Need To Make A Quick Gift? There’s Still Time…

  1. Lennette says:

    I love the pattern and tear drop quilting Donna!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Lennette!! How the heck are you!!

      Did you see that I used the green fabric you sent me for the back? Worked out great.

      Hope your house and dogs are all decorated for the holidays!! 😀

      Thanks!!

  2. Quilty says:

    Merry Christmas, Donna!
    Hope you get lots of parties to go to, to keep you busy at your sewing machine all month! 😀

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Quilty!! I thought of you on my birthday. Hope you and hubby spent the day staring into each others eyes. Happy Anniversary!!

      Only two parties on the schedule for this month. Niece’s college graduation is one. I am making her a lap quilt with the University school colors.

      Merry Christmas to you too!!

  3. amandajean says:

    that’s awesome! i love the layout your chose. and your binding fabric is wonderful!

    thanks for linking up!

  4. JG says:

    I need to try your teardrop quilting. The resulting pattern looks nice on your festive table topper.
    ~Judy

  5. Heather says:

    Very pretty! I really like the teardrop quilting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

