Spool Block Wall Hanging Quilt


It’s done!!

I finished my Spool Block mini quilt last night. It is small. 26″ by 31″.

My 1st Spool Blocks. I am so in love with how this turned out. I am keeping it forever!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used six of my 4 1/2″ scrap blocks. Added lavender sides and purple tops and bottom to form the spool. And then added the borders. Usually I struggle with borders. One side up. One side down. Not even. But not this time. I did them as I was supposed to. Measure the center. Cut the border per that measurement. I was tempted to add extra just in case. But resisted. And guess what? They came out perfectly. Three borders. Purple polka dots. Red dotted swiss. And purple floral. And sad news… I am just about out of the first two. 😀

For the back I was going to use more of the 4 1/2″ scrap blocks. But opted for this look instead.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even after adding the borders, I knew this would be a wall hanging. It shouted “hang me” up. So off I went in search of how to correctly add a sleeve.

My plan was to sew on a strip of fabric on the back BEFORE sewing on the binding. But the YouTube videos I watched said to add it AFTER completely finishing. So that is how I am doing it. How do you add on a sleeve? Before or after finishing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv4xirLbx1U&feature=related

Well, I am glad it is finished. Have been working on it for several days.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My craft room wall is filling up. Ah, my beloved quilted clock. Time to make another one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And I already have an idea for which fabrics to use for my next spool block quilt. This one will use nine scrap blocks.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The plan is to make it lap quilt size. And I have an idea on how to do the area surrounding the spools a different way. Trying for a more balanced look.


What else am I working on, you might ask?

Here are some of the other projects I am juggling. Due to attention span problems. 😀 Should be finished with all of them in a couple days.

Angel Table Runner

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

3 more doll quilts

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Fabric gift bag

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And then after my craft show, I am going to tackle making a larger Spool Block quilt like this one.

http://fredashive.blogspot.com/2010/01/string-spool-tutorial.html

2 comments on “Spool Block Wall Hanging Quilt

  1. mariaek928 says:

    Oh Donna, you really inspire me…if only I didn’t need sleep to keep up with my kids—I would be crafting the second the kids went to sleep. For now all these ideas are tucked away in a new ‘IDEA’ notebook, much safer than tucked away in my mommy brain.
    And as I read this post I couldn’t help but think– Donna should create a new Christmas song: the 12 Crafts of Christmas’.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Maria, I love that, “the 12 Crafts of Christmas!!” It sounds like me. Thanks!!

      And thank you for your kind comments. I hope to continue coming up with ideas. Thanks so much for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

