Spool Blocks, Doll Quilts and Auditions


Boy, oh boy!! Have I been busy. It is like a fire has been lit under my bee-hind.

I have so many irons in the fire it is hard to keep track. For you too, huh!!

Well, two sets are finished. They can be used as doll quilts or holiday table toppers.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

One more is about finished. Decided I wanted gold polka dot circles appliqued to the quilt back. This is how I will probably place them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More on the Sneak Peek from yesterday…. I am using some of my scrap blocks to make a Spool Block quilt. The first one will be a mini one. Table topper or wall hanging. Here are the pieces assembled.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And here are six blocks I made using my scrap blocks as the centers. Cool, huh!! The blocks are made using the snowball block technique.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far I am liking how to make them. Haven’t sewn the blocks together yet. Need to decide on the borders. I am thinking I should use this red dotted swiss instead of the red polka dots with larger irregular dots. Though the irregular is my favorite type polka dot fabric.


Two fabric auditions…

Got this green print yesterday at JoAnn’s. Wasn’t 100% what I was looking for but the color seemed about right. At least it looks better than the solid green.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I think these fabrics will go well together to make up table mats.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Most of this stuff I am making is for my craft show. The only one I have for this winter. It is the second weekend of December. So I have been putting finishing touches on some stuff made but not finished. And making “this” to go with “that”. I still have to get price tags on everything. And I want to do a dry run and set up my display table. Two years ago my display table made the local newspaper. Maybe the same will happen this year.

More photos coming up…


Tutorial on how to make the spool blocks can be found here.

http://fredashive.blogspot.com/2010/01/string-spool-tutorial.html

2 comments on “Spool Blocks, Doll Quilts and Auditions

  1. Lennette says:

    I love the rounded corners Donna and the spool blocks are SO pretty!!!

  2. don_mae says:

    Hi ya, Lennette!! Thank you!! Have you ever made the spool blocks before. I hope they line up after I sew them together. I can’t wait to start on my brown/orange/beige scraps. I think they will make pretty spool blocks.

    Notice anything in that last photo? 😀 That last green. You sent it to me!!

Leave a Reply

