Switching To Christmas


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But first….

I finished binding these two little doll quilts yesterday.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And since I had LOTS of black and white scraps left, I started on a few more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Did I tell you how much I enjoy making doll quilts!! 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Just about out of the pink so used mustard gold polka dots on this one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I REALLY love how this is turning out. This will be the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I would like to make a second one but am out of the white with black stars fabric.


OK… Now on to Christmas.

My first Christmas blocks. I made this for a Block Lottery I signed up for in the Quilt Group I belong to. We are all making the same block using this Moda Bake Shop tutorial.

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2010/05/christmas-packages.html

It is supposed to true up to an 11″ square but mine turned out a bit short. About 1/4″. So I am going to use them myself for something. Not sure what.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Those were the first ones I made.

These next ones, the second batch, were still a bit shy of 11″ square but I am finishing them (made 4) and sending them off anyway.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For the next ones I make, I will remember to add a teensy extra when cutting and then trim down to size when finished.

What sewing are you doing for the holidays? Sprucing up the homestead or making gifts.

5 comments on “Switching To Christmas

  1. I LOVE that pink and black!!
    You are really getting into the spirit, switching to Christmas.
    I’m not really making anything for Christmas. Everyone is in flux here. My daugher will be moving out with the kids in about February (fingers crossed here) so I guess I’ll get something small for all and $$ so they can find after Christmas sales to get what they need. I usually do make things, but try not to plan on it so I don’t get under pressure if things get too busy at work for me to follow through.

    I’ll be sure to watch what YOU make, though.
    xx, Carol

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Carol, I made those first two Christmas blocks into a little mini quilt. Doll quilt or table topper. Just have to sew on the binding. I wish my sewing process was faster. I waste a lot of time picking off stray threads off my work space and the item I am working on. LOL!! I think I have tweezers in my hand more so than my rotary cutter. 😀

      Maybe around Spring you will have some ME time to do some creating. Until then, I will keep you entertained!!

  2. Deb says:

    Lovely as always Donna!

    I just ordered fabric to make Mattie a Christmas stocking, and Grandma a blanket. Nothing fancy, just fleece with a nice bonding for the blanket. The stocking will be fun though- using this fabric (http://www.etsy.com/listing/84932731/boerbabe-custom-listing?ref=af_you_favitem) for the body and this fabric (http://www.etsy.com/listing/86651750/navy-blue-with-black-mixfaux-fur?ref=af_you_favitem) for the top. I’m going to line the body with some black leftover bedsheet I have, and put some batting in between and quilt it. Should be a fun little project and will have more personality than the standard red stockings have. 🙂

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks, Debra.

      I checked out both of those. Mattie’s stocking is going to be so cute!! Do you like Etsy more so than eBay?

  3. Deb says:

    It really depends on what I am looking for, but given a choice between the two, I tend to pick Etsy. People are nicer on there, and more willing to help you out, something ebay seems to discourage. When I was looking or these fabrics, I went right to Etsy to start browsing. I found the faux fur first, then looked for a fabric to go with it. I’ve never had a bad transaction on Etsy and I’ve had several rotten ones on ebay.

Leave a Reply

