Aqua/Turquoise: Saving The Best For Last


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Isn’t it always the case? You put off doing something for fear of failure. That is what was going on with me and my Aqua/Turquoise scrap blocks. I only had a few scraps and I knew it would be tough going trying to stretch them and make 24 blocks.

And then I got this in the mail. From my friend, Debra.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Some really cool scrap pieces in there. Including turquoise. I used her scraps and some other pieces I found in my stash. Even found some charms I bought last year just sitting. I cut them into strips. They worked great.

So… this is the last color. And I am REALLY loving them. In fact, there isn’t an ugly one in the bunch. I had a tough time picking a favorite. I like all 24 of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


I took apart my “table cloth” quilt. Hubby said it looked like five table cloths. 😦 And now I have the strips separate, not doubled up. Still with black polka dot sashing between the colors.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am just about finished sewing the strips together. Then I have to decide on a border. Or no border. Probably yes, a border. And a pieced back.

Thanks much, Debra. I used all of the aqua and turquoise. Love the skulls with red roses fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

8 comments on “Aqua/Turquoise: Saving The Best For Last

  1. KipperCat says:

    Beautiful! I could curl up under these in the dead of winter, and feel like I’m on a sunlit Caribbean beach.

  2. Margaret says:

    I am loving all these scraps you are putting together and I think the Aqua is my favorite. I would love to have a small lap quilt to put on my lap to cover my legs when sitting at the computer. I have arthritis, fibro, and nerve damage in my legs (neuropathy). Have you thought about making small lap size quilts? Crocheted ones we call lapghans and I have one and it’s very handy. Keep up the great work. You are so creative!

  3. Deb says:

    Wow! The turquoise ones are gorgeous! Glad I could contribute to them!

    The skulls and roses I think I actually have some very large scraps of that I kept- I made a late 40’s styled halter dress with full skirt out of that fabric ages ago and still wear it when I can. Its also featured of the pillow covers I made for our couch. They don’t match anything but each other though… lol.

  4. oh, I love those aqua and turquoise especially with a splash of red! Beautiful.

  5. Shan says:

    Oooooooo…I love the turquoise. You know that’s my favorite color! And I do like your revision of the jeweltone quilt. Beautiful!

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone and thanks so much for your comments.

    I was really surprised how well these turned out. I don’t work much with turquoise but maybe I should. 😀

    I worked more on my quilt and am now adding the last border. It is turning out exactly how I pictured it. Photos soon.

  7. Lillian Dummer says:

    wonderful you are doing wonderful work great job.

Leave a Reply

