We Interrupt This Project….


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have been done in by PURPLE!!

I can’t seem to step away from it and move on to the next color. As you know for the last week (more like 10 days) I have been working on my Scrappy Project. Sewing strips and strings together to create scrappy 4 1/2″ blocks. Everything was working like clockwork. Pick a color. Make the blocks. Move on to the next color. And repeat. That is until I dumped out the purple scraps onto my work table.

I became obsessed with using up every single purple scrap that was at least 4 1/2″. Even sewed small pieces together. I made 13 more blocks and that was the end of the long strips. Yay!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now there are 64 purple blocks. 2 1/2″ of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I should have been happy to finish them up, right? Nope. I was thinking, what can I do with the smaller pieces.

Yep. I cut them into 1 1/2″ squares.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And sewed the squares into strips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am so loving this. I may never move on to the next color. 😀

8 comments on “We Interrupt This Project….

  1. Angela says:

    Look’s Great. Since you started working on these squares it has inspired me to try to make a denim quilt. I cut all the old jeans i’v saved up into 7in squares. I almost have enough to make a King size quilt.Gonna go to thrift shop’s and see if i can find any jeans in Diff colors other than blues and black. Maybe Brown and red’s and some Corduroy one’s cuz I think it will add a nice texture to the hole quilt once it’s done. OH and by the way this will be my very first quilt EVER : ) TY for the Inspiration : ) I’m also contemplating making the quilt a Denim rag quilt but haven’t decided yet.

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Angela, thanks much. So glad to hear you are going to try quilting. I have been at it since Jan 2011 and still love it. I know you will too.

  2. Lennette says:

    Oh la la, I love what you’re doing with the purple Donna!!!! I love what you’re doing with all your scraps!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      I am surprised I am truly enjoying working with purple. You know my love has always been BROWN. I think I have a new favorite. Thanks!!

  3. Crystal says:

    Oh Donna – It’s absolutely purple-icious!!!!
    I LOVE it! 🙂

    So glad you are having fun.

    Have you been able to pull yourself away from the sewing machine to spend a little time on beads? 😉

    You just need an office chair on wheels – so you can ride back and forth between tables!
    xo

    • don_mae says:

      OMGosh!! Great minds think alike. I ALREADY do have an office chair on wheels so I can do exactly as you suggested. I got it last Christmas for myself. No sooner than hubby had it out of the box and assembled it, he wanted one. So we went back to the store (Office Depot) to get him one. It ended up being his Christmas present from me. 😀

      Yes, I have taken a time out from sewing and gathered what I need to start on my item. I am making a bracelet. Shouldn’t take long. How many days left do I have? Has anyone sent you photos yet?

      Thanks much.

  4. I love, love love these purples.

Leave a Reply

