Scrappy Week – Day 4: Fade To Black (And Red)


Are you ready for an update? This will be a quick post. Off to celebrate hubby’s birthday.

Yesterday we left off with me deciding to go ahead and make a few scrap blocks in just black. That was HARD!! Solid black. Only had one fabric. And only a few mixed with gray. Mostly I buy black with something else. Like white. So… this is what I came up with.

Only made four. Not my cup of tea. Probably won’t make anymore like these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I switched to BLACK and WHITE. Made four. They look OK. But it took about an hour sewing the strips together. I think I like working with little scraps better. May make about four more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BLACK, RED and White. Only had time to make eight. Will make more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I made more of the one I showed you yesterday. The black and wine one. I REALLY LOVE these. Especially the chili hot peppers. Only had a small bit of it. Was in the eBay scraps. I think I saw it at JoAnn’s. May have to use one of my coupons.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My little bag of eBay scraps is paying off. Found these in there. May look OK with the yellow scraps. Gonna try it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yesterday’s Color Wheel.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Total scrap blocks made as of today: 110

  • wine/burgundy 30
  • gold 20
  • yellow 8
  • red 26
  • black/wine 10
  • black 4
  • black/white 4
  • red/black/white 8
4 comments on “Scrappy Week – Day 4: Fade To Black (And Red)

  1. Lennette says:

    I absolutely LOVE what you’re doing with all of your scraps Donna!!!!!!! Seeing the beautiful blocks that you’re making with your scraps makes me want to get my scraps out and start making blocks like yours!!!!

    • don_mae says:

      You should!! Come join me. I know you have 10 times the scraps I do. I am having fun. Working on purple today. So many scraps!! Thanks!!

  2. Crystal says:

    Did somebody saaaaayyyyy . . . . PURPLE??? 😀

    Looks as if you’re having a ball, Donna! Love the colorfulness of it all! You’ll have such a headstart for upcoming projects. And having the scraps disappear must feel wonderful, too.

    Hope the birthday boy had a lovely day!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Yep, working on your fav color!! Just finished taking photos. I think purple will take several days.

      It does feel great recycling scraps but the bin doesn’t look any smaller. Yet. 😀

      Hubby had a great day. Actually his birthday is tomorrow. And we will continue the celebration.

Leave a Reply

