Scrappy Week – Day 3: Seeing Red


Before Seeing Red, I saw BLACK.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Oh my, how depressing!! It needs a “color pop.” I couldn’t even imagine spending several hours making blocks of just black. Or even just black and white. The Camera Knows!!

Moved on to RED.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Much better. Like that butter commercial with that lady from Sex In The City and the French guy, Jacques. “We Like!!”

I have to admit I cheated. To spice up things, I cut a strip of 5″ from several red fabrics in my stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far, these are the red blocks I made today. 25 of them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not loving the heart fabric so much. Valentine’s Day is miles away. But I had it. So I used it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My Favorite Red Block.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

While playing with color placement, I experimented with adding a black scrap. And then made this one. AND LOVED IT!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hey, that is all it needed. Something to settle your eyes on. So now, I am fast and furiously lining up strips of black, white and red. More tomorrow on them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I think I will go ahead and make up one in shades of just black. And one in black and white. Just to see if my camera really does KNOW BEST!!


Yesterday’s Color Wheel

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Total blocks made: 85

Red 25
Black 2
Wine/Burgundy 30
Gold 20
Yellow 8

6 comments on “Scrappy Week – Day 3: Seeing Red

  1. Carol says:

    You have some fantastic fabric scraps!! I really like this project.

  2. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna, I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE what you’re doing with your scraps!!!! I am so envious of your ability to come up with ideas and then make them come to life!!! I love all of the “things” you’re doing!!! You are awesome!!!!

  3. Tanya says:

    This note is a little off the beaten path. I wanted to mention this because of the subject of quilting. Yesterday, I went to the sewing store up town. They have an extensive selection of fabric and display many quilts that the locals make. I had to go to that store yesterday. I saw a quilted piece that was unusual but very pretty. The base of the quilt was a piece of plain black fabric. It had several solid colors on it that were just plain with no design. The color combination was a rainbow of different colors. It was really beautiful. I should have taken a picture of it but I didn’t. I just thought it was worth mentioning.

  4. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. So glad you are enjoying my little scrappy project. It’s something that has been on my mind for months. As I watched them accumulate and take on a space of their own. I am hoping to have less “oops” scraps by taking more time developing a design and not just cutting to see if I like it. I think I am getting better with experience.

    I did make a few just black blocks. Will show you in a minute.

    Tanya, that would have been great to see. If you are ever back there, maybe you could. Thanks!!

  5. Dorothy says:

    I would love for you to show how you sew all these strips together before you cut the squares. I assume you sew long strips then cut with a cutter. I see some of the strips are diff width and at angles. I like that. I enjoy your site!

Leave a Reply

