It’s Going To Be A Scrappy Week


More new fabric is coming…

I have gone crazy buying new fabric on-line. Got some really great deals. What am I going to do with all of it? Well, eventually I plan to spread my wings and take the time to experiment with quilt blocks I haven’t tried before. I say eventually since I don’t want to just cut into them until I have a clear picture on the designs.

So… for now, until those ideas become clearer, I thought I would try to reduce my scraps and have a Scrappy Week.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is what I have accumulated since the first of this year. A huge plastic bin of nothing but scraps. I like to go through the bags before I begin a new project. Sometimes I find just what I am looking for to mix and match the new fabric. It doesn’t look organized but it is. Some are sorted by color. Some bags have leftovers from completed projects. I weeded out the itsy bitsy pieces that would require magnifier glasses to sew. Tossed. In. The. Trash. Felt good letting them go. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Since my last few projects have used burgundy and wine, I started with that color. I am also using scraps purchased from eBay.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I am making 4 1/2″ square blocks. Some of the scraps were already wonky. And I purposely cut a few crooked for variety.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love my revolving little cutting mat.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It makes getting the perfect 4 1/2″ square so much easier. Don’t have to lift and reposition. Just rotate. And I am using my Klutz glove (I had stopped using it) since I am cutting so close to my fingers. Can’t sew without fingers!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far, I have 25 wine/burgundy blocks completed.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These two are my favorites.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next color? Probably purple and lavender. Have lots of them. The bag is calling out. Empty me!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It will be fun deciding what to do with the blocks after I make my way around the color wheel.

How do you manage your scraps? What do you do with them?


BTW, I finished my 2nd boxed mug rug set. It is just slightly different. I like the fabric box on this one better than the first. The handle stands up and doesn’t fall over. I guess it’s true. Practice makes perfect!!

5 comments on “It’s Going To Be A Scrappy Week

  1. Deb says:

    You’re only just started and I’m already loving this project Donna!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey, thanks!! Exciting, huh!!

      Since I only had a little bit of the yellow/gold scraps, I decided to work on that color. I am hoping to get at least 12 blocks made. I’ll show a status tomorrow.

  2. The “look here first” sign made me smile. Good reminder!

  3. You are just too dang ORGANIZED!!
    This is a great project, too.

  4. don_mae says:

    Thank you both.

    I am moving right along. Made 33 blocks so far today. Taking a break. Got to go Krogering.

Leave a Reply

