Pillow Talk: The Good Old Days


It felt really great to work on and finish up one of my Works-In-Progress.

How about another one? Remember this?

My “How To Keep Your Husband” fabric. It was one of my Idea Sandwiches. Fabrics I mix and match to set aside for a future project.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I blogged about it here.

https://thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/more-idea-sandwiches/

I really love this fabric. Makes me chuckle. I don’t know the history. It came in a bunch of other scraps in an auction I won on eBay. Just looking at it takes you back to about the 50’s.

I showed hubby what I was working on.ย  He read a few of the How To’s and smiled.

  • Don’t read his mail.
  • Don’t gossip over the phone.
  • I will never annoy him.
  • I won’t rummage through his pockets.. any more. (LOL!!)

But what is REALLY comical is how the ladies of that era dressed. Think Donna Reed, Loretta Young. Beaver’s mother, Mrs. Cleaver. Cleaning house in the Going-To-Church dress, heels and pearls. Now, THAT is funny. When was the last time you put on a dress AND a hat. I would be hard pressed to even find a dress in my wardrobe.

Ah, the good old days!!

Well, back to the here and now. Such a tiny piece of fabric. Only 10 1/4″ by 15 1/2″. Not much I could do with it without adding other fabrics.

I decided to make a pillow.

Before starting, I auditioned a few other prints in my stash. To see if any newly purchased fabric blended better than the blue and orange Fat Quarters. Nope, they still worked best. But would they be enough? Only had two each. And I was determined not to trot off to JoAnn’s. They already had enough of my money.

I managed to scrape together two pillows by carefully cutting the Husband fabric in half.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Since I use darker colors (think brown) most of the time, I enjoyed using these brighter colors. More Springy than Fall but I need to experiment with different colorways year round. Get out of my dark rut.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used cream with tiny black dots for the borders.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

These came out great, I think. Just as I wanted. The quilting (on the top and batting only) was just diagonal lines about the width of a ruler apart.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To save a bit of money (so I can spend it on fabric ๐Ÿ˜€ ), I made my own pillow forms. I used a blue and white striped sheet I got cheap from the Salvation Army Thrift Store.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To stuff them, I used leftover macrame cord scraps. As you can guess, I have TONS of scraps. This is just the cream macrame cord.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Compared to a store bought pillow insert, I saved about $20.00.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, that was fun. Now I ponder what to do with the leftover fabric scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Maybe a mini quilt. A lap quilt. I think I can stretch it. I have about 2 yards left of the cream.


Going back to the origin of the Husband fabric…

Out of curiosity, I did my own research. It is from the Michael Miller fabric line. There was also a How To Get A Husband fabric.

http://www.jandofabrics.com/newsletters/16-tips-on-how-to-get-a-husband-by-michael-miller-jo-fabrics/

3 comments on “Pillow Talk: The Good Old Days

  1. I love novelty fabrics. I love Michael Miller and Alexander Henry especially.
    This was great fabric and easy to match up with stash fabrics.

  2. Debra says:

    “But what is REALLY comical is how the ladies of that era dressed. Think Donna Reed, Loretta Young. Beaverโ€™s mother, Mrs. Cleaver.”

    I wish this would come back into being. Ladies actually DRESSED! I love it!

  3. Crystal says:

    Love this fabric! It’s so retro, or should I say OLD – like from MY era! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Seriously, it reminds me of wallpaper that was in our “powder room” when I was about 5 years old. I LOVED that paper! It was full of little scenes of a lady being a GIRL!

    You know – sitting at her dressing table applying makeup, lounging in up-to-her-nose bubbles in an old-fashioned tub, spraying perfume from a fancy glass bottle with an atomizer!, and my favorite – walking in her satin, high-heeled slippers with maribou feathers on the toes!!!! Oh la la! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

