A Day Of Cutting, A Day of Sewing


Yesterday, I cut and cut and cut. Got all the rectangles and squares cut for the little mini quilt I am making for Halloween. My Halloween stash is really small so I am not doing anything elaborate or that takes a lot of time. Simple cut strips.

The layout has changed several times. I ended up needing to use most of the Moda Halloween charm pack to fill in the gaps. Left the black and grey ones in the pack. They stood out too much.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As did the lime polka dot fabric. Too bright for the look I was going for. You can’t see it in these photos, but I already swapped them out with avocado. I wanted the orange and purple to “pop”. The green was to be filler only. A sleeper fabric.

I was going to add a white frame around the Halloween fabric but it looked awful. Now I have to figure out what to do with six white strips.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Unless I change my mind, this will be the layout. With two outer borders. One orange, one black polka dot.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And then two long strips of rectangles/squares on the left and right of a six inch strip of the Halloween print. The Halloween fabric will go in the center of these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t have much of it. About half a yard. So my hands got all shaky when I cut into it. For fear of messing it up. But I made it. No cutting errors. This project will be the first one to have so few leftover scrap pieces. Yay!! About time. My scrap bin already runneth over.

Today I sew.

2 comments on “A Day Of Cutting, A Day of Sewing

  1. Crystal says:

    Your Halloween mini quilt is going to be adorable! You’ve got some really cute prints there, and you KNOW I love those touches of purple! 🙂

  2. don_mae says:

    😀 Yes, I know how much you love purple!! I love it too.

    The back, I think, will be all purple. I have more of it than the other colors. I won’t do a pieced back since the front is SUPER pieced. Just a plain back.

    And… I made some changes to the layout (again) but I am really loving it now. I hope to have the quilt top finished by end of day Tuesday. Almost finished. Taking a break and then going to hit the sack.

    Wasn’t that funny about the Cinnabon!! Cheap is right.

Leave a Reply

