Bone Picking Time


Usually I am a happy-go-lucky type person. Letting the simple annoying day-to-day stuff just roll off my shoulders. Don’t sweat the small stuff. It took years of practice and counting to 15 to get where I am emotionally today.

BUT…. sometimes, enough is enough!!

Recently I spent two hours gazing and drooling over a lot of new fabrics listed on JoAnn’s website. I don’t go purposely off in search of them. They FIND me. They send me e-mails with this offer and that offer. Free Shipping with a purchase of. Percentage off this. Percentage off that. Something to get my attention.

Well, seeing NEW under a lot of pretty fabrics did it. I clicked on page after page and whatever colors popped and I could dream of fitting them into my ever growing stash, I added them to the Shopping Cart.

OK, my cart was tempting to tip over, so I checked out. Excited. My fabric taste buds were bursting. A few of the pieces I had never seen anywhere. Of course, some of my selections were in brown/rust/burnt orange shades.

You can imagine my surprise when I received the Shipped Notification e-mail and the total cost was a lot less than I ordered. THREE of the fabrics were out-of-stock. Now tell me? If it was there when I clicked on it to order it, how is it now out-of-stock!!

I fired off an e-mail to JoAnn’s Customer Service. Mad. All that be calm and pleasant to others crap long gone. Now a mere dust trail. The response was the usual We Are Sorry For Any Inconvenience This May Have Caused. Lady, you have no idea!!

Those three fabrics I wouldn’t be getting were the cornerstone of some fabulous designs whirling around in my head. OK, settle down, Donna. Settle down. It wasn’t actually the end of the world. Others out there are dealing with a lot more critical issues.

OK.. OK.. I had settled down by the time the box arrived. Still some excitement left for the fabrics I would be getting.

Until I saw this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I am Royally Pissed Off.

Do you see any Apples and Pears?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I blew off steam to the only other person living with me. Hubby. Poor hubby. I mouthed off I will never shop there again. Had it. Wasn’t the first time the old out of stock had been pulled on me. He just rolled his eyes.

This time I called Customer Service. It took about two minutes for the Return Free Shipping Label to appear in my e-mail box. But who is going to pay for my time to package up the wrong fabric and the gasoline to drive to and from the post office!!

Now tell me. Has this happened to you!! What did you do about it?

12 comments on “Bone Picking Time

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    I usually don’t order from JoAnn’s on line since they have a huge store here. But with the free shipping return label, you should be able to just stick the fabric in an envelope, attach the label and stick it in your mailbox. I wouldn’t make a trip to the P.O.

    Or….wrap it in a black trash bag. Tape it. And stick the label on it. Then stick it in your mailbox. (O.K…..I have a mean streak working overtime this morning).

  2. Debra says:

    Joann’s is fine in the store, but ordering online? Every time I have ordered online, more than half of my order is out of stock and I don’t find out until I get the package. I always end up going to the store in the next city over and getting the fabrics I ordered but they were out of stock of online.

    As a result, 90% of the fabric I buy is from Fabric.com.

  3. don_mae says:

    I just ordered a bunch of fabric from Fabric.com. I hope I don’t get the same old out of stock sob story from them.

    I have a JoAnn’s not too far from me. It is one of those Super Stores with multiple levels and an elevator. It’s a nice sized store with lots of choices. The whole 2nd floor is fabric, notions and anything sewing related. But they don’t get the latest fabrics as fast as on-line.

    We should boycott them!! 😀

    • Debra says:

      Donna, I have never had a problem with fabric.com except one.

      I was purchasing several fabrics one night, and two of them kept doubling up in my shopping cart. I adjusted the yardage like three times, but after I checked out, I discovered I had 2 yards of one and 4 of the other when I had wanted 1 and 2. It was cheap fabric and an sale, so I didn’t worry about it- I spent about $8 more than I intended and got 3 more yards.

      I’ve also contacted their customer support for a few things and they are very friendly. Straight to the point too. No dilly-dallying around, either they can do what you need or they can’t. 🙂

      Fabric.com also has some really good sales sometimes and I’ve been known to buy yards of fabric I have absolutely no idea what to do with it because it was like $2.00 a yard. I need to stop that! lol

      • don_mae says:

        I looked at their sale (super cheap) fabric but it wasn’t quilt quality. Mostly satin and shiny fabrics. For clothes. Knock on wood. So far, I haven’t heard a peep out of them regarding shipment of my order.

        Wish you lots of luck in making your dresses. The patterns are really cute.

  4. Crystal says:

    I’ve never ordered fabric *online* from Joanne’s, but in the 1990’s, I used to order from a fabric catalog, with no problems. Darn, I can’t remember the name of the company. They had gorgeous stuff and they would tie the bundle you ordered with a satin ribbon that had their name on it. Any of you ladies know of that company? (I’m off to google!)

    So glad you are now playing with your Halloween prints, Donna. They’ll get your mind of this nuisance!

    • don_mae says:

      I shipped back the “apples and pears” (yeah, right!!) fabric today. I called back and wouldn’t you know it. The REAL fabric is out-of-stock. I’ll have to get it somewhere else.

      Yep, having a blast playing with my Halloween prints trying to stretch them as far as I can. I think the mini quilt will be around 42″ by 52″. I think it will look cute as a table topper with pumpkins on top of it.

      I don’t remember the name of that fabric company either. Tied with a satin ribbon!! Wow!! Today, you are lucky if your order gets shipped in a BOX!!

  5. Debra says:

    Yeah, sometimes they have cute quilting fabrics on super sale but not often. Mostly its oddball apparel fabrics.

    Thanks. I need to get a few things before I can begin (watched that video you linked me on knits) including a walking foot and some ballpoint needles, but thinking I may do a simple shirt tonight with one of those fabrics I got too much of. I have a few patterns I’d had for a while that would be cute for Fall. 🙂

    Fabric.com usually ships in about 24 to 48 hours, and you should get it pretty quickly as you’re much closer to them than I am, and it takes about 5 days for me to get my boxes I think.

    A ribbon! I want my packages tied up with pretty ribbon! LOL

  6. Carol says:

    I have never had this happen. I don’t buy internet with Joann. Last year you made something with pink leopard print. I wanted it so bad. Went to the store…nope. Went to the link on line you gave me…nope. Fab showed in the banner but not listed.

    I have bought material a lot of times from EQuilter and never been dissatisfied. Never. If you haven’t been there, go play round. You can even click a color on a print you want and find all the fab they have with that color. Heck its worth the visit just to play around!!

  7. don_mae says:

    You are welcome.

    I will get it in the mail later today or tomorrow.

    😀

Leave a Reply

