Made More Oven Mitts, In Cranberry and Orange


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Not Halloween fabric but I am working with orange. 😀

I just wanted to see how the cranberry fabric would look as an oven mitt trimmed in orange. I kept thinking about it. So… I made one. Then a second one. Can’t have mismatched oven mitts when removing a casserole, now can you?

Did you see my oven mitt tutorial? I am loving making them. Hope you will try it.

Here’s what the latest looks like.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love how this orange polka dot strip came out. To tell the truth. It happened by accident. By mistake, I cut too deeply into the “V” thumb area of the top fabric. So when I sewed around it trying to cover the cut, it bunched unsightly. So, the patch to the rescue.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used some of the fabrics I used to make the cranberry and orange table mats. Not all of them, since I wasn’t completely sure if one was 100% cotton. Better safe than sorry.

I have accumulated a nice little bag of scraps from this project. Any suggestions on what to make with them?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, back to staring at my Halloween fabrics and hoping for an idea to pop up.


9 comments on “Made More Oven Mitts, In Cranberry and Orange

  1. Lennette says:

    Oh my gosh Donna, I absolutely love the orange polka dot accent!!! How clever of you!!! But then again, you are the most clever crafter I know!!! I love love love your fabric selections!!!!! I swear that you had to be the most amazing quilter in a former life because everything you do is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    Gorgeous work, Donna! I love how you are making these!

  3. Debra says:

    Love these! I was all set to trace an oven mitt and try my hand at them again, then I realized we don’t have any actual mitts… will have to see if my Mom has any next time I am out that way.

  4. Wanda says:

    love the colors separately and together!!! looking for some of the insul-bright so I can get started on some myself

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone, was resting the brain and by golly I found something Halloweeny that I want to make.

    Making those oven mitts is so addicting. I definitely will be making more. Thanks much for your kind words. You all make it worth it to try new things. So I can show them to YOU!!

    Sharon… soon, real soon. Just taking a break. 😀

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    I’m working on a soft doll tutorial on one of my groups….but when I get finished, I’m going to be making some oven mitts for sure!

  7. Debra says:

    Donna, do you have any experience with sewing knits?

    In a few days I am going to undertake my first knit dress. I did some searching of Google for tips, and basically what I found said if you don’t have a serger, and your seams need to stretch, use a wide zigzag with a short stitch length. Also saw a lot of read the machine’s manual too.

    Do you have any other tips for this? The pattern is one I have been looking forward to for a while but have been afraid to actually start because I’d hate to mess it up! The fabric I got is not one I want to accidentally waste!

    • don_mae says:

      I can’t ever remember making a garment with knit fabric. I just checked YouTube and this video shows basically what you already read. But it still might be helpful to you.

      Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

