Eight Is Enough and An Oven Mitt


Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Eight it is… Tired. Don’t want to make anymore.

Isn’t it tough to keep making the same thing and trying to get them all to match up?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep, it is. At some point you are ready to move on to the next project EVEN before you finish up what you have been working on for DAYS!! Now you see why there are so many Works In Progress out there in Crafty Land. WIP’s just sitting waiting for you to circle back to them. Pushed aside from Sheer Boredom. You are probably thinking about some cool new fabric you just bought and want to cut into.

Me? I have Halloween on the brain.

I want to get started working with these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And these.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But FIRST, I need to sew the tops and bottoms together for these eight placemats.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Was going to stop at six but kept thinking that was odd. Odd number. Two sets of 3 each. If you look at the three connected together, looks like something is missing. I think it should be just two or at least four. (BTW, I changed my mind on the how to arrange the pie pieces. I like this arrangement better. The eyes can land on a spot and not get you all silly dizzy.)

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So, I made two more. To make two sets of four. Different arrangements.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And I need to get them quilted. No binding. Just edge to edge, turn inside out and quilt.

With the leftover fabric, I am going to make a couple of oven mitts. I have been wanting to try my hand at oven mittens for some time. I have a pattern somewhere around here that I bought. Too lazy to go find it, so I searched on the net. Found lots and lots of patterns. Fabric, yarn, felt. Google “oven mitt” and you will find hundreds.

And after a while, they all start to look the same. Even the directions begin to blend together. BUT… you can make the traditional mitt that looks like you traced your hand or make the puppet style. There’s even one that looks like a “feminine product” (if you get what I mean). Oval shaped that you slip both hands into. Another one I saw was made up as an apron with attached mitts. Like those snow suits for little kids with gloves dangling. I kid you not. For real.

I’m going to go all traditional for my first one. Safe. Here’s what it looks like cut out. I hope I did this right.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More photos in a day or two.

Waaaaaa.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I WANT TO WORK ON MY HALLOWEEN STUFF!! 😀


4 comments on “Eight Is Enough and An Oven Mitt

  1. Lennette says:

    I just love reading your blog Donna!!! I love love love the placemats!!!! Your fabric choices are awesome, as usual!!! I absolutely love your Halloween fabrics!!!

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    Are you using Insul Brite with your oven mits? One of the patterns I found called for it and regular batting. I found some at Jo Ann’s by the yard. I think I only bought a yard of it.

  3. Debra says:

    Insul-Bright is only $4.25 a yard at fabric.com where the insulated batting Joann’s sells is $8.00 a yard (that was over a year ago when I last bought it at Joann’s). Of course the Insul-Bright can’t be nuked, but who nukes their hot pads and oven mitts anyway?

    Donna, I’ll be curious to know how your mitt turns out. I’ve tried multiple patterns and all of them turned out very very badly so far. No thumb shape when finished, too tight to get your hand into, et cetera. I ended up giving it up as a lost cause.

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks, everyone.

    Yep, I am using Insul-Bright. And I did get it from Fabric.com back in July when they had a sale on it. I got 4 yards for just 7.00. Can you believe it!! 22″ wide. Glad I don’t need any now!!

    I spent the last 2 hours researching and reading exactly how to layer it in the quilt sandwich. I finally figured it out. Everywhere I looked did say where to put it but they never stated which way the silver side should face. I have it facing the fabric that will touch the hot item. And then the batting and then the lining. (I already read everything that’s out there.)

    I will certainly let you know, Debra. Hope it comes out ok. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

