Not Eye Popping, But…..


Back to BROWN!!

This is what I am working on now. More pie pieces cut with my Fons and Porter pyramid ruler.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The colors don’t pop out at you and lock onto your eyes as the cranberry and orange ones did. But I am still liking them and am delighted to use up some of my fabric stash.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So far, I have enough wedges cut to make something. But what? A quilt? Not sure yet. When I first started, the plan was to make placemats and make them interchangeable. Using different sets of fabrics. This is the first set.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

If I don’t get bored, I will probably see what else I can come up with to go with them. Maybe using some of these fabrics you see here in this photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

To me this is the fun part. Gather up a bunch of fabrics. Mix and match. Add, subtract, replace. Start off with a blank surface and fill it with different designs, shapes and colors.

After sewing the strips and cutting the pyramids, I got an unexpected surprise. See the brown and turquoise floral in the middle?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It wasn’t my plan for them to line up next to each other. 😦

Now, when I sew the wedges together I have to match up the seams. Wasn’t my plan. AT ALL!! Oh well. Wish me luck getting them all lined up.


7 comments on “Not Eye Popping, But…..

  1. Lennette says:

    I love your design and your fabric choices Donna!!

  2. don_mae says:

    Thanks much, both of you.

    Guess what? I didn’t have any problem matching up that flowered strip. None. Isn’t that odd? Could it be because the edges were slightly on the bias?

  3. Quilty says:

    Hey, I’ve got some of that same floral. Used it in my big Kingsize log cabin quilt that I made quite some time ago. Methinks your stash must go back in time a little, does it? πŸ˜€

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Quilty!!

      I got an e-mail from one of my blog subscribers and she too had that fabric and loved it.

      Nope, my little fabric stash is only about 5 or so years old. Some of the fabric I used up there came from Michelle and Lennette. I have no idea the age of their stashes.

      That floral, if memory serves me, came from Michelle. Was her mother’s or grandmother’s. So yep, I guess it does have some age on it.

      When I run out, I know where to go to get more!! πŸ˜€

  4. Debra says:

    The white fabric with the white dots- it looks just like some fabric I got from my grandmother’s fabric stash from when she was making dresses in the 50’s and 60’s. I made a baby’s bucket hat out of it with a black recycled bedsheet lining. πŸ™‚

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra, that fabric is actually a light beige. My silly camera!! I got it at JoAnn’s this year.

      I made eight placemats. 4 of one configuration and 4 of another. Now just need to sew top to bottoms and quilt them. I cut out an oven mitt from the leftover fabric. Going to see how the one comes out before I make more.

Leave a Reply

