Doll Quilt Props. Cuteness Overload!!


On Wednesday, a week ago, I stopped off at the local Salvation Army to drop off two boxes of donations.

One box was full of office supplies. I had a talk with my former 9 to 5 self. We both agreed there were things hanging around I would NEVER need or use. So, I went about the house collecting up J O B related stuff. Such as navy blue Follow Up cards. Nice, expensive looking, but where would I use those now. I don’t suppose my customers want to get a follow up message when they buy something from me. LOL!! Hilarious!!

And three-ring binder sized plastic holders for business cards. I kept a couple. Plus old stuff for the Franklin Planner I used to use. No need to plan my day. I can do what I want, when I want. Plus extra this, extra that. Do I really need 300 rubber bands. Not hardly. I use about one a month. I think you get the picture. Loads of stuff this crafter won’t be needing in the craft room.

The 2nd box was full of unwanted/already replaced VHS movies and empty clear plastic VHS cases. I have tried for years to figure out how to recycle the cases but so far nothing has worked out. So out they went too.

And you know what that donation meant. I COULD GO SHOPPING. One Out. One In. I can’t buy unless I first discard.

I drove around to the Thrift Shop entrance anxious to see what was new. Senior Day. 25% off.

Made my rounds to the usual racks and shelves. Got some cute red material with Chef’s and veggies. A bargain. Actually a steal!! With my senior discount it was only $5. Four yards/60″ wide.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next I checked out the latest in the wood aisle. You can NOT just breeze by that section. So much to consider. I stop, look and touch. Oh, no. Don’t Touch!! You know when you touch something, you will probably buy it.

These got lots of touches. AND ENDED UP IN MY CAR!! 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And the best part. $3 for the chair and one dollar for the cute little doll cradle.

Now I am all set with doll props for my next craft show.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

9 comments on “Doll Quilt Props. Cuteness Overload!!

  1. Lennette says:

    I am always so entertained reading your blog Donna!!! That fabric is so cute and what a great deal you got on it!!! I also absolutely love the doll props you’ve bought!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Thank you, Lennette. (Secretly, I always wanted to be a writer. 😀 )

      I saw that fabric one week, didn’t get it, got something else. Then when I went back a couple weeks later it was still there!! So I snatched it up. I am thinking oven mitts and placemats.

  2. digipicsphotography says:

    You always manage to find some really GOOD bargains!

  3. Betty (Nana) says:

    That’s it! I am coming to Michigan. Our thrift shops would have the doll cradle at $10 and the chair at $50.
    You got some super bargains!
    Browse Ebay for
    “Fat Chef” That fabric matches, I used to have my kitchen done in that..red, black white. I can see cute little valance in that!
    Great finds!

    • don_mae says:

      Come on up, Nana!! We will shop still we drop!!

      I was surprised too at how low they price their stuff. The whole Thrift Shop has really drop open mouth pricing. One thing I have learned. If you like it, grab it right then. Their sell rate is unlike anything I have seen.

      Thanks!!

  4. Crystal says:

    Yay, Donna!
    GREAT deals!!!
    My favorite is the rocking chair! Not only perfect as a prop for photos and at shows, but also adorable for displaying a doll or bear – all year round.

    And, if you don’t still set up a Christmas tree – it would make a wonderful touch of the holidays with a Santa you might find during one of your shopping trips! 😉 xo

    • don_mae says:

      What a great idea!! And I already do have a huge stuffed Santa. I think I will take it with me for my December craft show. Thanks for the tip.

  5. Debra says:

    What great finds! I’d make kitchen curtains form that fabric myself. 🙂 Too cute! Our old roommate has a wallpaper border really similar to that fabric she is putting up in her kitchen, this would match perfectly!

Leave a Reply

