Back-To-School Quilt

I am still working through my “old” novelty fabric stash. The fabric on the right with the black background and colorful alphabet letters has been around for years.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I used some of it to make a couple of quick simple purses and had about a yard left. I only recently discovered some of the letters of the alphabet were missing. I couldn’t spell out my name. How weird is that!!

With schools opening soon, the idea of making a Back-to-School quilt seemed like a good idea. A mini quilt or lap quilt for a child. I gathered up several other fabrics and got started cutting out the pieces. Dresden Plate wedges. One of my favorites to work with.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I changed my mind after making this block and decided to go longer.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Added two more wedges to balance it out. 10 wedges per strip.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here are four strips sewn together with black fabric with tiny white dots for sashing. And also black polka dots. (You knew polka dots would be here somewhere, right? πŸ˜€ )

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Let’s see… we have Math, Spelling… how about some Music!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making progress. Two complete sections done.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

When deciding on the final borders Log Cabin style, I really wanted to somehow bring this yellow numerical fabric into the mix. I tried it on the sides. But it stuck out too much. Even consulted my “color expert” (hubby). He has a great eye for color. I looked at him and he was shaking his head. OK. No bright yellow.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you can see here, I used my Go-To-Fabric, my beautiful black polka dots. Always handy. I am thinking of buying an entire bolt the next time a JoAnn’s 50% off coupon lands on my doorstep.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So… the quilt top is finished. And now I have to decide on the fabric for the back, quilt it and add the binding.

Unless I change my mind, this will be the binding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Right now it measures 42″ by 54″.

5 comments on “Back-To-School Quilt

  1. Debra says:

    Love the fabric with the rulers!

  2. Lennette says:

    I love it Donna!!! Your hubby isn’t the only one with an eye for color, you do too! I love all of your color/fabric combinations!!!

  3. don_mae says:

    Thanks much!!

    I went to JoAnn’s to get more black polka dot fabric. I am going to use that for the back. Will be working on it today. And the pillow.

  4. Crystal says:

    Hi Donna!
    Love this school theme and the colors remind me of Mary Engelbreit’s art – delightfully bright and cheerful! πŸ™‚

    And kudos to hubby for his keen eye for color!

    • don_mae says:

      Hey Crystal!! Yep, hubby is a stickler for a coordinated wardrobe. Everything much be clean and polished. He is the only person I know who won’t go anywhere with unshined shoes. Me. I have NEVER shined my shoes. Ever.

Leave a Reply

