“D” Is For……..

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Donna.

Dog.

How about Domino?

That’s what this little doll quilt reminds me of. Little dominoes. I know, I know. Yes, I am totally in love with polka dots. If I could, I would add them to everything I make.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is another Ticker Tape quilt. Like the yellow and orange one I made from the tutorial over at Crazy Mom Quilts’ blog.

http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/2009/10/scrap-buster-project-tiny-ticker-tape-quilt-tutorial-from-amanda-jean/

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Mainly, I like that I can use fabric from my scrap bin. Lining up the squares is fast and easy. Just mix up the colors. Perfect for those odd pieces that don’t go with anything. Place some vertical and some horizontal. Fill in all the spaces. That part is super easy. The sewing part does produce a few sighs. About half way, I think, am I done yet??!! But they are so cute, I keep going.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really like making them and have been thinking of ways to create the same look without the raw edges raveling. I bought some Steam-A-Seam2 fusible web for appliqueing.

http://www.warmcompany.com/saspage.html

Maybe I can use it for these ticker tape pieces. I am thinking the edges would be more stable and fray less.

Have you ever used Steam-A-Seam or any other type of fusible web? How did you like it?

4 comments on ““D” Is For……..

  1. Betty (Nana) says:

    Look how cute!! I love it!

  2. Carol says:

    OMGosh!! This is too cute.

  3. Belinda says:

    That is really cute, Donna! I use Steam A Steam Lite all the time and I love it! I use the 1/4 inch kind. I don’t know that it would help with fraying, but if you zig zag those little squares on, it would probably keep the edges from fraying. It might be worth a try anyway. 🙂

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks much, ladies!! They are fun to make.

    Belinda, yes, I did try making one using zig zags. The Mickey Mouse doll quilt. It worked great but so much work.

    I think I am going to go ahead and try the Steam-A-Seam method. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

