Mickey Pillows, Snap Setter and Steam-A-Seam

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I have a confession.

I LOVE MAKING PILLOWS!!

Sometimes I think an octopus lives at my house. If you have been following my blog for some time, you probably think that too!! My focus changes by the hour. 😀

But I think I may have found my niche. Pillows.. I am really enjoying creating them.

Here’s my latest finished one. A Mickey Pillow. There are quite a few FIRSTS in this project.

  • Snap Setter
  • Steam-A-Seam 2
  • Applique
  • Loopy circles quilt design

Well… let’s get started………. Going to be a long post. You might want to run get some coffee and something to munch on. 😉 LOTS of photos.

Making The Pillow Front.

Though I enjoy working with novelty fabrics, it requires a bit of fussy cutting to get just the right piece at the right angle for your project. I started off with a 6 1/2″ Mickey in the green Mickey fabric. Then added different fabrics to complement the Mickey colors. Log Cabin style.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And ready to quilt the top.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made straight lines to quilt the fussy cut piece in the center.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Added diagonal lines from the corners to the center square.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Then decided to step out of my comfort zone and do some loopy circles. I had practiced them for two days and was positive I was ready.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you can see, it is easy to get boxed in… if you are following along with the fabric design. I quickly learned when to go left and when to go right.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK. That wasn’t so bad. Loopy circles finished. Two sections left. The areas top and bottom between the diagonal lines. Decided to go back to basics and stipple them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And now the front is quilted.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can better see all four of the quilting designs I used in this photo.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Ready to make the Pillow Back.

Using the same fabric as I used in the top, black with tiny white dots, I started off with a simple fold-over design.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I like the look of an envelope back but wanted to try something different this time.

Enter the Snap Setter.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It works great. Just as the instructions on the packaging.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Whew!! Still with me? Almost finished.

I wanted to fussy cut the word Mickey and add it to my pillow. So after a bit of Internet research I found the product Steam-A-Seam 2.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Bought it, tried it, made a mess of the first practice one. Glue everywhere. I hadn’t followed the instructions correctly. Thank goodness I had the sense to not practice on my pretty pillow. OK, back on track. Ready to actually do it.

Touchdown!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

All done. Finished and ready to stuff him. Pillow cover measures 18″ by 15″.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Did I tell you how much I enjoyed making this pillow!! 😀

So much that….

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Yep, three more in the works.


If you want to know more about the Snap Setter, go here.

http://www.snapsource.com/faqs/howtosnaps.php

5 comments on “Mickey Pillows, Snap Setter and Steam-A-Seam

  1. Debra says:

    Wow! You have been busy Donna! Looks good!

  2. Lennette says:

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again Donna…your creativity is amazing and your work is awesome!!! I wish I had just 1/10th of your creativity!!

  3. Betty (Nana) says:

    That is just too stinkin’ cute! Great job with the quilting, too!

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    Really cute! I might have to invest in one of those snap setters. Could definitely come in handy.

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone, very much!!

    Yes, I have been busy. Really busy. Today I worked more on my Barbie “line” and finished up 3 things and worked on another. It is going to be a HUGE Barbie pillow.

    And I pinned in place the Dresden Plates on my quilt, getting it ready to sew them down before I start to quilt.

    Sharon, I love my Snap Setter and the cost wasn’t too bad. Buying the different colors of snaps adds up though. Plus you will need an adapter if you buy snaps larger than the standard Size 16. I got the 20 Adapter and size 20 snaps.

Leave a Reply

