My New Quilt Book… My New Ruler

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I saw this book during one of my Lookie-Lou sessions on the net. (I click on stuff until I find something I like.) I loved it immediately. So many quilt designs I want to try. When the book arrived, I flipped through it and realized to make the blocks per the instructions, I would need a special ruler. 😦

A 90 degree Double Strip Ruler from Creative Grids.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I figured I could make the blocks on my own but certainly would take longer. So, OK, I do a search, looking for the best deal. Checked eBay, Etsy first. Then did a search with MetaCrawler (I love this search engine!!) Amazon came up. Yay!! They had the ruler. In two days, I kid you not, I had it in my hands. Super fast shipping.

The ruler was kind of pricey.

BUT…

I used my AMEX points to buy it. Who knew those points could really be useful. In the past, I redeemed my points for small kitchen appliances, office equipment, gift certificates. Even airline tickets. For some reason I felt if I didn’t use them, they would vanish. And most of the stuff I got, I gave away as gifts.

Now that AMEX has partnered with Amazon, I can buy stuff for ME. Things that I really want and can use. (If you haven’t signed up, go look into it. You may as well get something back for being a loyal customer.)

Anyhoo… back to the ruler. Here it is with larger details.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you can see from the photos, it hasn’t been removed from the packaging. Yet.

I will check to see which Idea Sandwich works best with the quilts I want to make. Going to be fun!!

5 comments on “My New Quilt Book… My New Ruler

  1. Debra says:

    I have Amazon’s Visa card, and often use points to help the price on items bought directly from them. Its always a happy surprise when they say “Hey! Wanna cash in some points on this item?” Love being rewarded for doing something I would do anyway.

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    That is a cool ruler. I have a couple of pricey ones, but LOVE them when I use them for their “special purpose”.
    I can’t wait to see what you make from that book. I have a quilt that I want to make from strip sets with the kaleidoscope ruler, just as soon as I finish 8000 other things I need to do.

  3. I am not an experienced pieced quilter. I’ll be interested to see what you do with that ruler!

  4. Lennette says:

    Have fun with your new quilt book and rulers Donna!!! Isn’t it amazing how you can get a new book and become inspired to create a million new projects?!

  5. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thanks much. I haven’t started using my new ruler yet but have been thinking about which quilt from the book to make first. I will probably do the simplest one.

Leave a Reply

