Bittersweet… Quilting For Quilt #1 Is Done

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

All Done!!

I finished the last of the quilting for Quilt #1 (Drunkard Path) this morning at 5:45 am. I had worked on it yesterday most of the day. Taking frequent breaks.

Most of the quilt was done with Free Motion Meandering stitches. Plus I did circles and straight lines to quilt the “pie” pieces.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What saved my shoulders and arms from fatigue and pain was my new Janome extension table for my sewing machine. It supports the weight of the heavy quilt so I don’t have to hold it up. And it allows me to work with a larger quilting area, to smooth out the fabric before starting to quilt. It works great!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

 

This is the last piece to be quilted. Before starting, I was overcome with joy and grabbed my camera to document the moment.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You never forget your first. I certainly will never forget My First Quilt. It has character. I think that is what flaws are called. 😉

Next… the binding. Already cut and ready to go on.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

More photos tomorrow.

6 comments on “Bittersweet… Quilting For Quilt #1 Is Done

  1. Lennette says:

    YAY Donna!!!! It’s all done and it is BEAUTIFUL!!!! You should be so proud of yourself!!!!!!!

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    WOWZA!! You did an awesome job on it!

  3. […] Bittersweet… Quilting For Quilt #1 Is Done « This Year's Dozen It supports the weight of the heavy quilt so I don't have to hold it up. And it allows me to work with a larger quilting area, to smooth out the fabric before starting to quilt. It works great! … Source: thisyearsdozen.wordpress.com […]

  4. don_mae says:

    THANK YOU!!

    Half finished with the binding. OMG!!

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    Feels good to have it done, doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

