Recycle #7: Batting Scraps Doll Mattress

At first, I was throwing away my batting scraps. Now, how stupid is that!! If you quilt, then you know I was throwing out big bucks. That stuff is NOT CHEAP, is it?

So… I got a huge plastic bag with a drawstring on top and started accumulating scrap batting pieces. Large and small. Any size.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Some with the fabric still attached. I kept it all. Once when I needed a small piece of fabric to finish a project, I ended up digging around in there looking for a match. And found it!!

Those scraps come in handy. Real handy.

I was making a little mattress for a doll bed and immediately thought of the batting scraps. But first I had to “clean” them up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Even though the scraps would be enclosed and not seen, I still wanted to pick off the threads and pull off any fabric that I could. Took an hour but I am glad I did it. They look nice and clean.

I started off sewing the “mattress” just as you would make a little pillow case.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next, I inserted two long strips of really thick Pellon. To form the sides of my “mattress.” And then stuffed it with most of the batting scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I decided to make the top part into a pillow. An attached pillow.

 

 

And stuffed the pillow part with the remaining batting scraps.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

 

AND DONE!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I think it turned out cute. My little mattress and pillow. The fabric looks like mattress ticking. But it is a queen size flat sheet I got at the Salvation Army Thrift Store for $5.99. It will make up lots of stuff. I think I got a real deal.

 

Hubby saw me working on it and shook his head. I know what he was thinking. 66 years old and playing with dolls!! 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I will show you tomorrow why I made this. 😀

5 comments on “Recycle #7: Batting Scraps Doll Mattress

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    I’ve been known to sew pieces of batting together to get just the size I need.

    You can get one of those sticky roller thingies that takes pet hair off your clothes and roll it across the batting to clean it up.

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    Now, isn’t that the cutest thing!
    There are many of us in our 60’s who still “play” with dolls, although the pricier ones are kept in a display case.

  3. Lennette says:

    Your creativity continues to amaze me Donna!!! You are, without a doubt, the most clever crafter I’ve ever met!!!

  4. Maria K says:

    I am in love with this!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone, for your comments.

    I just posted photos of the doll quilt I was working on.

Leave a Reply

