$20.98 A Yard And She Ripped My Fabric!!

We chatted a bit at the Cutting Counter.

She asked what was I making. (Nice lady, just doing her job.) Hot pads, I proudly state. She confirmed it was one yard she was cutting. I nodded. Under my breath, I said to myself, “that is all I can afford.” She picked up a pair of scissors. (Everything still going fine.) She cut a slit in my pricey fabric. $20.98 a yard. She sat the scissors down.

And then it happened. In a flash. She held up one end of my fabric with her right hand and the other end with her left.

AND SHE RIPPED MY FABRIC!! Right at the one yard mark.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OMG!! Be still my heart. What just happened????

What had just happened was my INITIATION into the Ritzy-Titsy Art of Cutting in a Rodeo Drive-like Fabric Store. I won’t mention the store name. To protect the innocent. ๐Ÿ˜€ BUT they advertise on every Project Runway show. Starts with an H. They are my 2nd option for a Local Fabric Store. JoAnn’s being my first.

I have shopped at “H” many times. My Janome Distributor has set up shop there. But only went home with notions in my bag. Cutting rulers, grommets, pins, cord, buttons, patterns, Janome items, etc. Never any actual yards of fabric. But on this day, the day I took my sewing machine in for repairs, I was going to finally buy fabric, sticker shock and all. Moving to the Big People’s Table.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can imagine the look on my face seeing the cutting lady rip my fabric. After I recovered, I asked why. She said that is how they do it. For every fabric. Even silk, I asked, looking over at the beautiful dresses they have displayed in their Bridal Shop. Yes, even silk. She further gave me a run down on which fabrics they can and will rip. I said ok, thanks for the warning BUT could you please NOT RIP my 2nd piece of fabric. She again tells me, that is how they do it. I am saying under my breath, “not this time, lady. Pick up those scissors.”

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Wow!!

I didn’t even tell hubby about spending $33.88 for two yards of fabric. He wouldn’t understand. And I didn’t really feel like talking about the ripping either. He for sure wouldn’t understand. It will be our secret. I will still make hot pads. Once my Insul-Bright gets here that I ordered on-line.

Does your fabric store rip or cut? Have you ever had a “Well, I never!!” experience at the fabric (craft) store? Do tell.

BTW… they should buy new signs. RIPPING COUNTER better describes what happens to fabric you buy there. ๐Ÿ˜€

15 comments on “$20.98 A Yard And She Ripped My Fabric!!

  1. Debra says:

    LOL You had me so worried for a minute Donna! I thought for sure you ordered online and it arrived torn! Whew!

    I think I have my next project picked out, and it doesn’t involve sewing… I’ll blog about it in a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sorry Donna. I’m surprised you never had this occur before. Having been a Singer Sewing machine sales person and working in their fabric store, I know that ripping is the preferred method of separating fabric from the bolt. And I prefer it. By always ripping, you are assured that some crazy with the scissors clerk won’t cut a crooked line and give you less than a yard. I am totally surprised that you have never learned this before, since you are such an accomplished sewer.

    Long ago I learned to rip the fabric to find the true grain. If fabric is out of square, you can then tug a little cross grain to straighten it out. They taught that 40 years ago. Not sure if they still do.

    That said, that’s mightly expensive fabric. Isn’t it crazy the way prices have risen. But you have to agree with me that made by hand is far better than made by China!!
    xx, Carol

  3. Nana betty says:

    As far as I am concerned, you had better cut my dang fabric or keep it.
    I know ripping it is the quickest way to find true grain, but it sometimes stretches it
    .
    The only store around here where a cutter would say something like that is Hancock’s. They have the rudest salespeople ever!

  4. brilliantaqua says:

    My mother owned an heirloom sewing & quilting store (Viking Sewing Machine dealer) that I worked in for many years & Carol DeLater is right, fabric should be ripped to find the true grain. I cringe every time someone cuts fabric…I then have to go home & snip both ends to rip it and get it on grain, so I lose yardage. The only fabrics I wouldn’t rip are knits & linen (with linen you actually painstakingly pull a thread and then cut along the pulled thread line–takes forever, but worth it). My favorite fabric to rip by far is silk dupioni–very satisfying sound (Liberty of London tana lawn is a close second). If I could find a local fabric store that ripped instead of cut I’d be in heaven.

    Also, since they do usually rip the fabric from the bolt, if she had cut the second piece instead of ripping you might have lost yardage…you want the same thing to be done to both ends of the fabric.

    She should have explained why they do it instead of giving a canned “this is how it is done” answer though–that was really rude.

    Love the fabrics, btw.

  5. Lennette says:

    I have to laugh at your ripping experience Donna, because it is almost identical to my first “ripping”! I couldn’t believe it when the the sales woman ripped in to the fabric that I had just spent an hour picking out. I quickly learned that ripping, rather than cutting, is the preferred method for many fabric shops and in actuality, it gives a more precise measurement than cutting. Welcome to the world of quilting! LOL I guess Michelle and I should have warned you about that! LOL

  6. Belinda says:

    Donna, I had an experience like that myself a few years ago before I learned that ripping the fabric ensures that it is on the true grain. When it is cut at the store, you are a supposed to pull a thread and rip the fabric yourself in order to make sure it is on grain before sewing your project.

  7. Belinda says:

    I forgot to add that when the store clerk ripped my fabric, I had the same reaction you did—I was apalled! LOL Later, I learned that this ensures the fabric is on the straight of grain. However, I didn’t learn that this method gives a more accurate measurement. I learned that here today. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone!!

    I kind of figured I was “late to the party” on fabric ripping. Most of my sewing experience until I retired was during my teen years when I sewed about 98% of my clothing. Years ago. I don’t ever remember watching my material get ripped. They don’t do it at the JoAnn’s I shop at. There are a few Quilt Shops in the area which I can’t afford. They probably do it that way there.

    Debra, I saw your newest project. Going to be nice. I didn’t know you could draw.

    Carol, I guess it had to happen sometime. I am glad it happened at 66 years young. Doubt my heart could have taken the jolt if I had been much older. ๐Ÿ˜€ It IS some pricey fabric, isn’t it. Crazy pricey!! I won’t be wasting any of it. Perfect cutting is the plan.

    Nana/Betty, I agree with you. I don’t want my fabric ripped. Even if that is the best way to do it. I don’t have a Hancock in my area. Wish I did. That would give me two reasonably priced places to buy fabric.

    Brilliantaqua, thanks for this info. Now I know. Learn something new everyday.

    Lennette!! Yes you should have!! Letting me go into the pricey store all by myself. With no warning!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Belinda, we both learned something today. Usually I have to size up and trim off one end to ensure it is straight before cutting. Now I see why. Because JoAnn’s cuts with scissors. And that is where I mostly buy my fabric.

    Thanks again for your comments. Really appreciate your input.

  9. digipicsphotography says:

    I’ve ripped fabric, especially fabric that has been cut crooked.

  10. Jaxanangel says:

    I worked at Joanne’s for almost a year and was taught to rip certain fabrics from my manager who had worked there and quilted for over 25 years for the same reasons as mentioned above, when its ripped, its an absolute straight line and you get your full yardage. Of course if the last person cut, they should be ripping a small piece off to straighten it so you aren’t getting shorted. I didn’t really see a difference until she compared a cut yard to a ripped yard. It really does make a difference.

  11. Debra says:

    Donna, I used to draw all the time. My Mom’s house has my framed artwork all over it. A self-portrait, a picture of one of her old goats, some fantasy creatures, all sorts of stuff. Some is not very good, but its there and she loves it… lol.

    I have all these ideas lately of things to do, but none of them are really pulling me into them. I figure maybe its time I try something new or at least something I haven’t done in years. My 30 day drawing challenge has been a lot of fun so thinking maybe that’s the way I should go.

    I’ll be doing the artwork on my computer, adjusting the lines, shapes, getting everything just right. Then I’ll transfer it to the canvas by mapping out a grid on both the image and the canvas, and drawing it in by hand square by square. It takes time, but the transferred image will be nearly perfect. Then I can paint. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I actually haven’t painted anything in about ten years… eek!

  12. abbie2001 says:

    I have never had my fabric torn. It’s always been cut. Even at Walmart. I think I would demand another piece be cut especially since I was paying that price. Tearing can alot of the time make the “cut” line uneven and you end up not getting a whole yard. It’s beautiful fabric and I would have thrown a fit, that’s how I am.

  13. Gaby says:

    Here, in Argentina, as far as Iยดm concerned
    almost every person who sales fabric cut it in the way that you mention. May be is rare,but you get used to it. :)hahaha

  14. ann says:

    Donna, when a bolt of fabric is opened, if it is ripped the first time the whole thing has to be ripped. It is more accurate, and I even do it to fabric that has been cut to find the grain. My favorite to rep? Velvet. It always did my heart good to work forever with a difficult customer then watch their face as I ripped their expensive fabric. Sometimes I think they went into shock!

    ann

  15. JudyP says:

    I have NEVER seen them rip a fabric, anywhere, any store, even Walmart. The fabric store I frequented the most when I sewed alot, had a special table to cut fabric on with a little metal slot up the center and that was where they cut so it was a straight line. I probably would have walked away and let them keep it. I can’t believe that material cost that much!!

Leave a Reply

