Moving Right Along… Table Runner Ready For Quilting

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Oh boy!! Can I please have my REAL sewing machine back!! I will be deaf in 10 working days.

My little sewing machine would be ok to sew on IF. If it wasn’t so LOUD. My hubby didn’t say anything. He didn’t have to. His feet did all the talking. He got out of bed and went downstairs. 😀 And my craft room (with the door closed) is down the hall on the opposite end of the master bedroom.

But I am making a bit of progress. I have the squares for the table runner sewn together. Front and back.

This is the back.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It will be reversible.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now it awaits Big Jan’s (my real Janome) home coming. I plan to stipple it so I don’t have to worry about lining up straight lines on the front to match up with the back.

So now, I am working on the two sections I have assembled for the pillow. Or pillows. I could use both of these as a front and make two.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hubby asked me why was I making a pillow to go with a table runner. Oh, I don’t know. I guess cause people have chairs and couches near tables!! He is such a kidder.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

What else am I doing?

I am learning Paper Piecing. I love the result. So straight and perfect.

This was my practice block. My revolving cutting mat works great for trimming smaller blocks. I love it.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But to me, it SEEMS that I am wasting fabric. I can’t get over having to use a huge good piece of fabric to cover “an area”, trim it, and put the scraps in my scrap bin. Seems I have more scraps doing it the paper pieced way. Maybe if I use scraps to start with, I won’t think about wasting fabric. Hmmmm… now there’s a thought.

The instructions for the blocks I am making can be found here.

http://www.quilterscache.com/M/MonasteryWindowsBlock.html

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Still not sure where I am going with this. I’ll just keep making them and putting them up on my design wall. Hopefully a design will pop out at me.

Well, back to sewing on Itty-Bitty.

5 comments on “Moving Right Along… Table Runner Ready For Quilting

  1. Lennette says:

    I love your table runner and pillows Donna!!!!! When you first started quilting, I was afraid that you’d maybe do one or two patterns and not like it so give it up. I’m so glad I was wrong!!!! I’m sure Michelle would agree with me that we’re so glad you share our addiction now!!! Your quilting talent is amazing!!!!!!

  2. Crystal says:

    Very pretty, Donna!! 🙂
    There’s something warm and cozy about a table runner. It adds so much charm.

    Have you thought about those little disposable ear plugs? The guys at hubby’s plant have to wear them whenever they venture into the factory end of the building – it’s a law. I sometimes find them in his pocket when I’m sorting the laundry. I think they’re available in stores and are inexpensive with a few pairs in the package. Your hubby could have his own, too! 😉

    • don_mae says:

      I do have some of those. Bought them years ago during our concert going days. I’ll have to find them. Thanks!!

  3. Belinda says:

    Donna, when are you going to start writing your “how-to” book? 😉 You have amazing talent!

Leave a Reply

