I Figured It Out!! I Figured It Out!!

YAY!!

I am sewing!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Up until yesterday, I had only used my little sewing machine for bobbin winding.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

So, had to find the manual and read it to figure out how to thread it. And how to sew on it.

Here’s the good and the bad.

The Good.

  • It can sew straight lines.
  • It can sew zig zag lines.
  • It has adjustable tension.
  • It has adjustable stitch lengths.
  • It can wind a bobbin.
  • The foot can be raised higher than I originally thought. Yippee!!

And now The Bad.

  • No light. 😦
  • One speed. Slow.
  • Foot petal is used as the On and Off Switch. LOL!!
  • To remove the item being sewn, you have to turn the side wheel several times to advance the thread out. You can’t just pull on the thread.
  • The needle goes up and down the entire time the bobbin is winding. LOL!!
  • It is LOUD!! OMG!! I am sure with the windows open, the neighbors can hear it.

BUT… it sews. And the stitches look pretty darn good too.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

In fact, look at what I worked on late last night (after reading the manual). A table runner and pillow. The squares were already cut. Months ago. It was easy to get started. I was so in need of stitching up something!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You know the saying… you get what you pay for. Well, for 50 bucks, I got a 5 lb, 10 1/2″ by 9″ sewing machine.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It does what it is supposed to do. Sew fabric pieces together. Can’t expect it to do more than I paid for, right? πŸ˜€

11 comments on “I Figured It Out!! I Figured It Out!!

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    At least it sews!

    My Viking is loud …at least to me.

    • don_mae says:

      Yep.. barely. πŸ˜€

      I gave up sewing on it last night. Hubby got up and went downstairs. Too Loud!! LOL!!

  2. Crystal says:

    Yikes, I’ve missed a LOT! You’ve been a very busy lady! πŸ™‚

    I LOVE the “How To Keep Your Husband” fabric, and your jeans purse is fabulous!

    Is the fabric above (for the table runner and pillow) vintage?

    I used to make dolls dresses with 2 of the 4 shown. The cranberry and blue floral was my absolute FAVORITE!

    • don_mae says:

      Oh Crystal.. yes, I HAVE been busy. You can take the summer off on your blog. But you can’t take the summer off on MY blog. πŸ˜€

      Thank you. I LOVE how my jeans purse came out and will definitely make another.

      Those fabrics, I have no idea if they are vintage. ALL of them were given to me by my friends, Michelle (blue and floral) and Lennette (cranberry and pinkish print). They both have wanted me to learn to quilt for YEARS so they gifted me with tons of fabric so I could get started. Lennette is the one who has posted after you. I will ask her. I like those fabrics too.

      • Michelle says:

        I’m thinking I sent you a bag of fabrics from the 1980’s on up… πŸ™‚ A friend’s mom gave me boxes of material that were hers and her mom’s.

  3. Lennette says:

    Yay Donna! I know what it’s like to have sewing withdrawal so I’m glad you figured out your little machine while waiting for your regular sewing machine to come back from the repair shop!!!

    • don_mae says:

      Yep… it sews… but so slow… and LOUD. After sewing about four pieces together, I have to stop to give my ears a break. πŸ˜€

      (If you see this, Crystal has a question on the fabric you gave me that I am using in the tablerunner and pillow above.)

  4. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Michelle!! I think I remember you saying the lady had so much fabric her entire bathtub was filled with it.

Leave a Reply

