More IDEA Sandwiches

Only been one day and I am going through no-sewing withdrawal already……

I hated to part with it, but I took my sewing machine in for repairs yesterday. The repairman was off so I couldn’t ask him any questions. But the Sales Associate seemed knowledgeable about my machine, Janome Memory Craft 10001, though it is no longer on the sales floor. It is not that old. I have had mine for about 5 years. I guess it is now considered Grandfathered. An antique. Anyhoo, she quoted 10 working days and $150. 😦

So… since I couldn’t sew anything, I decided I needed a bit of fabric therapy. I flipped through my quilting books looking for pretty blocks easy enough for a person with limited skills.

And I played with my fabric stash.

Made these new Idea Sandwiches.

First, let’s discuss my obsession with Polka Dots. I LOVE THEM!! I think I have them in all colors. Different size dots.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The 1st one looks great. But even better with a bit of color added.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This purple and lavender combination makes me all knee-wobbly. I just want to get the rotary cutter and start cutting!! The outside print is from The Lennette Stash. It pulls all the other prints together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


Sometimes it just takes adding newly purchased fabrics to your stash pieces. Like this combination. The center orange and purple floral is new. The others had for a while. They blend so well. It’s like I walked around in the fabric store putting them together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


I love putting playful fabrics together. To satisfy the little kid in me. Novelty fabrics. They are high up on my Like To Work With list.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This “sandwich” happened after I received this really cute guitar fabric from my friend, Nana/Betty. I had a couple ideas on what I wanted to make.

So I went through my stash and gathered up a few Fat Quarters. Then, at JoAnn’s, I saw this white background musical fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And on-line, I found this really cute Kitty newspaper fabric. I knew I had to buy it. Did a bit of fussy cutting to cut out the section I wanted. A cat playing a guitar. How perfect!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This next one… tsk, tsk, all you ladies listen up.

It is How To Keep Your Husband fabric. LOL!! Too funny. No clue where to get more. It was in the scraps I purchased from eBay a couple years ago. It is just a small piece. About 1/2 the size of a FQ. But I will add these other fabrics to it and come up with something.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This blue fabric with mustard hearts is from The Lennette Stash. Imagine my delight when I saw the exact same fabric in red at JoAnn’s. Add in the other prints and I should be able to come up with something nice.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


This last one will probably be a Dresden Plate Something. They just scream “make me up in the round”, don’t they. Can’t wait to get to cutting them. I have even more purple prints that will go with these. I will use them all. The more the merrier!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, that does it. My New Idea Sandwiches. The fabrics are all set. Now just need to decide on what to make. (If only I had a sewing machine.)

8 comments on “More IDEA Sandwiches

  1. Debra says:

    Funny thing this morning. I got a comment on an old post on my blog asking where to buy instructions to do flat spiral stitch. I directed her to the tut videos I think you may have ref’d a while back on YouTube. She actually asked for you or me to reply, since you were in the comments on that post. hehe

    Looks like you’ll be ready to do some sewing as soon as you get your machine back again! I’ve got a ton of house cleaning to do this afternoon. We’ve got friends coming over Saturday and everything has a layer of dog hair and dust on it. Eew!

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    Love the way you are putting together fabrics!!

  3. Carol says:

    Donna Mae! You have a wonderful knack for matching fabric.

  4. Lennette says:

    I absolutely love all of your fabric combinations Donna!! I know that you just started quilting, but I’m pretty sure that you must have been a quilter in a previous life because, as with your other crafts, you have an amazing talent for it!!!!

  5. KipperCat says:

    What a visual treat to start my day with!

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    I wish I had your ability to match fabric! Love your combinations.

  7. Gaby says:

    And.. have you this fabric?:
    How To Keep Your Husband …HAPPY!!
    hahaha

Leave a Reply

