1st Day Of Summer Picnic

Today is the first day of Summer. Not too hot. Dry and clear.

How about we go on a picnic?

Let’s see… What to pack?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

First in the picnic basket is this sandwich.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Next. Fruit. What is a picnic without fruit?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

How about something to read?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Can’t forget my favorite. Yummy Brown!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And a little bit of art. Art In The Park.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

LOL!! You are probably thinking… what is this.


It’s the Quilted Summer Picnic Set I have been working on for about a week.

  • Fabric Wall Hanging
  • Double Table Topper
  • Table Mat
  • Placemats
  • Mug Rugs

Still have quite a bit left to do (quilt the double table topper and table mat; finish the mug rugs). But the placemats are finished. I made five.

The turquoise blue fabric is from that huge stack my friend Lennette sent me several months ago. Just starting to use some of it. Goes perfectly with the color in the Apple and Pears print. (Thanks again, Lennette. šŸ˜€ )

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The back has brown and white polka dots. Huge white dots!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

This is the Double Table Topper. I made three single mats and decided to sew two of them together to make it longer.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can’t tell in this photo that two are combined.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

But you can in this one.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I really had fun making this set. Each day brought idea changes. One minute an idea would pop up and the next, I would go off in a different direction. But I love how the set blends well together. I wish I had more mugs. Will have to check to see if I can find more. That one is one of my 99 cents finds at the Salvation Army Thrift Store.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

When I get some energy, I will work on these. They were strips sewed together which I cut, then changed my mind on what to do. So I ripped out the stitching. I am thinking Mug Rugs. Add some fabric in the middle to make them cup sized. And sew on one of the fabrics for the binding. Maybe make four in each color.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well, that does it. TIME to go…

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

(Time. Get it. My clock I so love. It is so quiet.)

Thanks for coming along with me on my picnic.

8 comments on “1st Day Of Summer Picnic

  1. Betty says:

    Donna This looks like summer to me. Very colorful. Very pretty. Have a wonderful day!! Your friend. Betty

  2. Debra says:

    Wow! Love these fabrics together Donna! I am seeing a dress pieces together in these somehow. hehe Maybe that means I should do some sewing too?

  3. Lennette says:

    I love love love your picnic set Donna!!! Your creativity never ceases to amaze me and inspire me!!!

  4. Belinda says:

    Donna, you have to be THE most creative person I know! You never cease to amaze me with all of your wonderful creations! šŸ™‚

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    Wonderful combination of colors!

    Can I send you some of our humidity? Please!

  6. Gaby says:

    oooh hahaha so funny post!
    Excellent job!
    Today is the first day of Winter here šŸ˜¦
    Enjoy Summer!!

  7. maria K says:

    Adorable! would make me want to picnic everyday.

    And I love the clock too!

  8. don_mae says:

    OMG!! I just realized I never did thank all of you for your wonderful comments.

    Thank you. Thank you.

    I took my sewing machine in for repairs. Was quoted 2 weeks and $150. I am hoping for less and less. Less time. Less money. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

