Harvesting A Pair of Jeans

This is all that’s left from one pair of old jeans. Amazing, huh!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


And here is what I was able to harvest… All of this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Legs

Backside with Outside Pockets

Front with Inside Pockets

Waistband with Belt Loops

Zipper, Zipper Flap and Metal Button

Waistline Panel (under the waistband)

Cuffs

Outside Label

Inside Tags

Grommets (Hard to remove and clean up)


MY TIPS

You need a really sharp pair of scissors for a clean cut. After cutting into the shape you wish, to stabilize the edges and keep from unraveling, do a quick zig zag.

Cut the largest “footprint” you can from each area without drifting into the next area.

Save every sizable piece trimmed off. You can use them as scraps for other projects. Store in a separate baggie to keep from unraveling.

Sew with a heavy duty needle. I am using a Denim Needle.

Use your Walking Foot to sew through the thickness.

Use your Zipper Foot to get close when sewing around the pockets.

Sew with a color thread that is close to your denim fabric but not an exact match. Will be hard to see the thread in case you have to rip it out.

Decide how you will work with or around rips and tears. I think they will give your item character. Consider leaving the hole/rip/tear there. You can cover it with a pocket or patch later if you end up hating it.

For variety, add cotton fabrics or flannel to your denim. Mix up the colors and patterns.

Consider removing the pocket from the backside pieces. To place elsewhere in your project. Or make your own pockets if you want more than the harvested ones.

My plan was to make earrings from the grommets.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BUT… it is really hard to pull the fabric from them. I am thinking maybe burn (safely, controlled) the fabric. Not sure if fire will damage the metal. We’ll see. I will do it outdoors.


I should be able to make at least four projects from one pair of jeans. You will have to come back to see what all I make.


Updated 6-17-11

Item #1. Finished 6-16-11.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Used one leg, 2 outside pockets, waistband with loops, back section attached under waistband (not sure what it is called).

9 comments on “Harvesting A Pair of Jeans

  1. Belinda says:

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with this time! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • don_mae says:

      Thanks!!

      I have a couple ideas. Most people are just cutting off the jeans at the crotch area and stitching across the bottom. I want to try something different.

      Have you been able to do any sewing lately? ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Lisa says:

    Hmmm…saw those grommets and thought those would make unusual and unique beaded “cabochons”! Wouldn’t have to lose the fabric…it would give a nice base for the beads. *sigh* Sadly, still in the middle of an extensive remodel and all of my craftiness is on hold. I will just keep watching to see what you come up with next to torment my imagination! Lol! Keep crafting!

    • don_mae says:

      THAT’S A GREAT IDEA!! If I try it, I will make sure to give you credit. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Hopefully you will have your craft room back soon. Thanks!!

      • Lisa says:

        Lol! You are welcome…it would not hurt my feelings at all if you ran with an idea…shucks, it would probably help with my craftless “withdrawal” symptoms๎…
        Don’t forget to take breaks somewhere in all that creating!

  3. Debra says:

    Hey Donna, what plug-in are you using for the new commenting sign-in? I like it!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Debra. I wish I could tell you. One day it was there. All changed like you see it. Nothing I did. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Debra says:

    Hmmm… I have updates waiting to be installed on mine. Maybe that will be part of it. Who knows… lol.

Leave a Reply

