Recycle #4: Making Blue Jean Pocket Purses

A few months ago, hubby unloaded his unwanted jeans on me. He cleaned out his closets and the jeans all ended up in my craft room. To tell you the truth, I DID ask for them. And he was thrilled to be rid of them. Some had small tears, rips, worn out knees and seats. In black and brown denim. (No blue. ????) But mostly in good shape. For crafting. To recycle.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

How excited was I to get them?

So excited, they sat in a pile, 12 pairs, for several months. Ideas came. Ideas went. I looked in books and magazines. I searched on-line. Several ideas I liked. But not enough for me to put down whatever I was working on.

Until yesterday.

I stumbled upon this site.

http://www.ehow.com/video_4953483_make-jeans-handbag-materials.html?cp=1&wa_vrid=de2d5bd3-f8f2-4f21-aa54-f30c016e42ab&pid=1&wa_vlsrc=continuous

I don’t remember how I ended up there but clicked on one of the links. I watched several instructional videos. 30 minutes later and I had My Next Recycle Project.

First, I sorted through the old jeans. Picking out the best of the bunch. Why is it there is a light spot on the right back pocket of just about all of them!! A worn out spot. Probably hubby’s wallet. Going in and out of it.

Next, I tried to cut with the sturdiest scissors I have.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Just knew they would work. They are my Go-To-Scissors-When-Nothing-Else-Works. Not!! Tried twice. I was determined those suckers would work. Wouldn’t cut. Had to use my regular sewing scissors.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I cut the back pockets out of four pairs and got started.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You won’t believe how fast these work up. The best part? I only watched the videos once. And then went off on my own to make mine and to add my own touches.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

You can’t see the insides too well but there is a small pocket inside both.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

12 comments on “Recycle #4: Making Blue Jean Pocket Purses

  1. Robbie Payne says:

    How cool!! What a perfect idea and nice job you did!! Thanks for posting!

  2. Maria K says:

    Love this, and my girls will just go bananas for them! Always something amazing on your blog!

  3. Margaret says:

    I love this purse! Now I need to find someone to make me one. Ha Ha

  4. Shayla Sharp says:

    I love cutting up old jeans into new things–usually, for me, denim and flannel quilts, so snuggly! My go to scissors are Gingher G5-C ones, they really cut through!

  5. Tanya says:

    I have to hand it to ya! You are very creative. It is always interesting to see what you’ll come up with next.
    I LOVE the idea with the jean pockets and the material.
    Keep up the great work! When you get tired of sewing, I’ll be waiting for more Macrame inspirations!

  6. digipicsphotography says:

    Very creative!

    Not for me, though, I hate working with denim. Brave of you to do it.

  7. Crystal says:

    Oh, it came out so very cute! 🙂

    My hubby has that very same worn-out spot on the back pocket of ALL of his work pants – Dockers Khakis. It drives me nuts because they look almost new otherwise.

    My theory is that it’s not so much the wallet being put into the pocket and taken out, but it’s the wallet constantly rubbing on the fabric as he gets in and out of his chair and his car, etc.

  8. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone.

    Tanya, I almost started to macrame the other night. Our power was out for 10 hours and macrame came to mind. To keep my fingers busy. But decided to just sit and rest a spell. My fingers needed a rest. 😀

    Crystal, I think you are right!! I see that faded spot on quite a few jeans.

    Margaret, check my Etsy store next month. They should be listed by then.

    Sharon, denim is quite the unstable fabric, for sure. I zig zag the seams.

    Now I have to see what all I can make up.

  9. abbie2001 says:

    Can you make one that is just a bit more square at the bottom then has two handles that are short to make it a purse you’d carry in your hand and then snaps closed?
    Can a handle be made from just all denim? This would be an idea I would really like. 🙂
    Hint Hint LOL

  10. abbie2001 says:

    Great Minds think alike! LOL

  11. Keep on writing, great job!|

Leave a Reply

