Quilted Playmats And Pillowcases

Lately, one of my favorite things to do is arrange fabric into little groups and look at them through the camera lens. Sometimes match but mostly transition. Flow from one color or pattern to the next. Combine fabrics you wouldn’t dream of wearing.

But for quilting… it works. I can do just about anything I want.

Here are the fabrics I started off with. The novelty squares were pulled from the scraps I bought on eBay.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I made a playmat using primarily animal prints and yellow. With a few bright colors added for the “pop” effect. I REALLY LOVE this design. It’s the same one I used for my brick red table mat with the utensil holder. This one can also be used as a placemat or table topper.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

After finishing the mat, the plan was to make one matching pillowcase. But after sewing the fabric strips together and quilting it, it was love at first sight. Ended up making three pillowcases. And I probably would still be making them if I hadn’t run out of the leopard print.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had fun taking photos. Lots of photos. On a table. On the floor. Just snapping them. Even staging them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com


What am I working on now? A pillowcase to go with this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I should be finished with the pillowcase today or tomorrow. So many things to sew and quilt. Not enough hands. šŸ˜€

4 comments on “Quilted Playmats And Pillowcases

  1. digipicsphotography says:

    Cute! and you are right…just not enough hands or time for that matter šŸ™‚

  2. Crystal says:

    So cute!
    A pillowcase/play mat set would be a wonderful gift for a child. It would really make both naptime and playtime fun!!! šŸ™‚

  3. Debra says:

    Love the giraffe print! Its my favorite animal. šŸ™‚

  4. don_mae says:

    Thank you all!! They are cute, aren’t they?

    I sewed a bit around 11pm last night. More strips to make pillowcases. Will finish up today.

    I have LOTS of ideas for scraps.

Leave a Reply

