Party Of One: Quilted Table Mat and Utensil Cone

Debra, a friend and regular commenter here at This Year’s Dozen, recently asked…

“Do you ever run out of ideas?”

So far, not yet. In fact, I have an idea book and add to it just about every day. My brain sometimes goes on overload. I wish my crafty fingers could keep up. Thanks, Debra, I’ll try to keep the ideas coming. 😀

Here’s my latest creation.

Remember this? One of my Idea Sandwiches I blogged about on May 3rd.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The end result kind of looks like the idea I had in my head. Except for rounding the corners and adding a little something extra. That is what happens as you create. Probably happens to you too. One thing leads to another. One idea seqways to a new direction.

Speaking of seqways… first let me tell you about what I do on Wednesdays. Senior Day at the Salvation Army Thrift Store. I only recently discovered the gems to be found there. For a song. And on Senior Day, on Wednesdays, they give us old folks a discount. 25% off all purchases. When I was there two weeks ago, they were giving Seniors 33% off!! I got this for $4.01. Originally $5.99.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

No matter that I don’t know what it was used for. No clue. Spice rack? Hubby said tie rack. It has holes for hanging in the back.

I know what I am going to use it for.

This…….

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

How cool is this!! Well, hope you won’t mind seeing it weekly. I plan to use it as a prop for LOTS of my creations.

The fabrics I used were mostly Fat Quarters. The brick and cream with the wavy lines was bought years ago. I am thinking the first year I started blogging. Liked it but didn’t know what to do with it.

The Dresden Plate blades I decided to use flat. Not pointed and not rounded. As is, as I cut them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Add some sashing and some Log Cabin type borders and you get this.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

My stipling is getting better, don’t you think? First I created some boundaries with double lines. Then I free motion quilted within those lines. I added wavy stitches along the end border to go with the wavy fabric.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Here are the rounded corners I mentioned earlier. I cut bias binding. I love the “feel” of it as I work. So different from crosswise. And easy to work with. I may use it more.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And done!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Making a caddy to hold the utensils came to me out of the blue. I used more Dresden Plate blades, quilted one side, sewed them together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Party of One.

Come on down!!

Your table is ready.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Hope you have enjoyed my little story on how this was created.


This is an original design by This Year’s Dozen.

Please respect Copyright Laws and do not distribute, copy, post on the Internet or share with anyone without written permission. Thanks!!

9 comments on “Party Of One: Quilted Table Mat and Utensil Cone

  1. Tanya says:

    Wow Donna!
    You never cease to amaze me!
    Your work is beautiful. You come up with cool innovative color combinations. Keep up the good work!

  2. Nana betty says:

    Now, aren’t you the clever one. You do have so many ideas!

  3. Crystal says:

    Very cute!!! 🙂
    I’m wondering if the caddy is permanently sewn together – or does it just wrap around the utensils? And is it snapped/velcro-ed to the placemat?
    Are you eating your veggies? Oops! With all the questions – I slipped in to “Mom” mode there for a second! 😉

    • don_mae says:

      LOL@Crystal!!

      Hey!! All good ideas!! The cone has a little opening at the bottom. You could stick a flower stem through it and use as a flower holder. I just sewed the sides together. On the backside where you can’t see my stitches. I have ideas to improve on it and also will test a square one.

      No veggies. Does watermelon count? A friend of hubby’s gave him a HUGE one. Will probably end up tossing it before we can eat it all. 😀

  4. Betty says:

    You are ready for the holiday!!!

  5. don_mae says:

    Thank you, everyone, I am putting together a second one. I have just enough material.

    And to think, when I first started, I wasn’t happy with it. But I LOVE how it turned out.

  6. Great work, Donna. Love that combo!

  7. Debra says:

    lol A little late but had to stop in and comment since I made mentioning! I love the idea of the little cones for silverware. Very cute! I’ve been wanting to make placemats for when we actually eat at the table.

Leave a Reply

