More Mug Rugs… Have a Cookie!!

All finished…… Don’t know if I would eat cookies off them. Wouldn’t these be cute for a little girl’s room. Playing with her dolls. Tea Time. Too cute!! πŸ˜€

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

As you probably guessed, I am loving quilting. I like looking at all the designs in books and on the net. Then I take what I like and go off on my own and make up my own creations. And I am learning sooo much. Everyday is something new.

BUT… some parts of quilting gives me pause. Like sticking the bent quilter’s pins in the quilt sandwich.

Let me ask you quilters a question…….. How do you avoid the pin holes?

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I carefully insert the pins but I feel like I am damaging the fabric. I see holes. BIG holes. Ugh!! Other than use my regular sewing pins, which would scratch up my hands and arms, I don’t know how to prevent the holes.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

For this set, I quilted in one fourth inch columns. I didn’t use any aids. Just eyeballed it. Some of the lines are uneven but it looks ok to me. Looks GREAT to me. As a new quilter.

Adding the binding was kind of tricky. I pieced the fabrics together and when I pinned it, I had to make sure the seams weren’t near a corner. That is, after I made the mistake of doing so. Lesson learned!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The daisy fabric was a Fat Quarter. One Fat Quarter. Can you believe I managed to get four mug rugs and the binding from that one 18″ by 22″ piece? Careful measuring and careful cutting.

Well… that does it for now. You will have to come back to see what else I am working on.

6 comments on “More Mug Rugs… Have a Cookie!!

  1. They look great to me, too! You do quite well at whatever artsy project you venture in to.
    xx, Carol

  2. Belinda says:

    Like I said before, your creativity knows no bounds! Do you ever sleep, or do you just lie awake and dream up these wonderful ideas?! πŸ˜‰ I still think you should write a book. πŸ™‚

  3. Dee Dee says:

    My mom taught me to do it without pins. If you line them up and press them against each other smoothly while they are still warm from the iron, they stay together. Even as a newbie quilter I was able to stitch a chain of one square after another without pins.

  4. Tanya says:

    I agree with the above comments. You have a definite flair for creativity. It is so nice to be able to see your work on this blog and share comments.

  5. Debra says:

    Looking good Donna! Do you ever run out of ideas? lol

  6. Margaret says:

    I love your bright and pretty mug rugs. I’ve been waiting to buy some Fat Quarters and do some sewing and I love your ideas and to get everything made from what you had to work with is great!

Leave a Reply

