Recycle # 3: Thread Spool Fabric Necklace

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The moment I decided to switch to all cotton thread and fondled the spools in the craft store, I knew immediately what I would do with the empty yellow spools. I couldn’t wait for one to get emptied.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Before long, I had 3 of them, then 4, then 7. I guess I was sewing faster than I realized. I started to collect them up in a plastic bag for when I had a couple hours to play around with a design.

I wanted to use all scraps. Since I had a HUGE pile of them in all different colors, shapes and sizes that I bought off of eBay.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

BUT I miscalculated the width and the strip did not completely cover the spool. So, I will use my “mistake” for something else.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Starting over, I decided to use one of my pretty batik squares I recently bought.


Here’s what you need to make this necklace.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

  • empty thread spool
  • 5″ by 5″ fabric square
  • batting (a small piece)
  • tiny elastic cord
  • button (I ended up using a larger one)
  • hanging cord
  • needle and thread
  • scissors/rotary cutter

Here’s the process in photos.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I didn’t take a photo of me sewing on the button. 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I love how this turned out and already have the fabric squares lined up to make more in the future. I have lots of the satiny hanging cords. They came in a package of 10. All different colors.


This is a This Year’s Dozen original design. If you make this necklace, please link back to my blog post. Thanks!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

2 comments on “Recycle # 3: Thread Spool Fabric Necklace

  1. Debra says:

    Cute!

    http://fairyfacedesigns.blogspot.com/2011/04/my-big-scrappy-giveaway.html Check this out… might be worth it to your quilting endeavors. 🙂 I saw it posted to my Facebook feed this morning.

  2. don_mae says:

    Thanks, Debra. And thanks for the link. I will enter and hope to win. Such pretty fabric scraps.

Leave a Reply

