Tee Shirt Quilt Progress and Barbie Pillowcases

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Slow going but I am making some progress. The fronts have been all over the place trying to balance the colors and the sizes.

This is my first time sewing with tee shirt material.

And Pellon. Ugh!! Don’t think I like it much. But I can’t imagine making this quilt without it. Would be unmanageable. It made a sticky mess of my ironing pad and coated the surface of my iron.

After figuring out what NOT to do, I pretty much got into a rhythm of pinning the t-shirt face to the interfacing, trimming around them, taking them to the ironing board. I was even able to lift and reposition, when needed, IF I caught the goof within seconds.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

The easy part, believe it or not, was sewing the fronts together. Like sewing on sponge.

The hard part? Cutting and trimming. If you make one of these, cut the largest area possible. Even if you think you won’t use the whole piece. You can always trim it down later as you fit the fronts together. I ended up with some 18″ length, some 17″. And thankfully mostly 16″ across. So I decided to go with 16″ across and recut as many as I could to match.

Anyone have an idea what to do with these strips? I’ll send them to you.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Sad to say, but my flannel with the helicopters I had planned to use for the sashing and the back turned out to be a disaster!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

It looked cute. I tried to make it work. I cut lengthwise and crosswise. It drooped. Sagged. Looked awful. So… off it went. Not sure what I will do with it. Maybe give it away.

I decided to go with this navy and white circles fabric instead. So far it is cooperating. I like it. My camera likes it!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Well….. that does it on where I am with my T-Shirt Quilt. These 3 rows sewn together.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Two rows left to arrange, rearrange, change my mind 100 times more. 😀


Oh, BTW, I made the cutest pillowcases the other day. Out of Barbie fabric I bought several years ago. Royal blue, yellow. And hot pink, which is this Summer’s Craze Color.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And also made one in lavender and purple. They all have french seams.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I followed the pattern found here. Easy!!

http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/millionpillowcases/freepatterns/index.html

I like how they make up. Will probably make more.

11 comments on “Tee Shirt Quilt Progress and Barbie Pillowcases

  1. Tanya says:

    I LOVE your creativity and choice of colors for the pillow cases ! The tee shirt quilt is also a real nice idea! The love you put in to your work really does show.
    Have a wonderful day!
    Happy Spring!

  2. Betty (Nana) says:

    Look at your progress! Yes, I can see how the tee shirt fabric and flannel would be hard to work with.
    The pillowcases are really cute. I need to make some of those for the king size pillows I have, but I am making bracelets, can’t stop. I AM ADDICTED!!
    THANKS FOR GETTING ME HOOKED!
    I am also crocheting a baby blanket in my spare time something else you got me hooked on!
    I hope you have a great day. That quilt will be so cute!
    Love ya! Nana

  3. Hi Donna Mae. Thanks for the tips on the t-shirt quilt and the link to the pillow case pattern. I loved the roll pattern…so easy! I especially like your purple one. And, I’m sure you will find another use for that cute blue flannel.
    xx, Carol

  4. Debra says:

    I love the purple pillow cases! I may have to make some of my own! hehe

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    I’ve got that pillowcase pattern saved. I have to try that.

  6. Maria K says:

    I really like this tee-shirt quilt–I can imagine how cozy it will be and filled with lots of favorite memories, but I can also imagine how hard the material is to work with.

    You can make some easy headbands from the tee shirt strips– the material is super comfy for my girl to wear, the natural curling looks cute and if they get lost no big deal we can make some more.
    There are several tutorials on the web, this is how we make ours. The strips should be about 14 inches long and the width depends on the look you want–3 to 4.5 inches works well on my girls and me too. Fold the short ends into the center and then into the center again,making the width on the ends roughly an inch. Insert a piece of elastic into the fold (about 5 inches long) and zigzag stitch the first side. Test how tight you want it and then insert and stitch the second side. Super easy!!

  7. LOVE that purple pillowcase you made!

  8. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone and THANKS much for your comments.

    Making those pillowcases are really fun. If I didn’t have other projects lined up, I would make them all day. I will make another purple/lavender one so I have a set. Hope you will try it.

    I am giving my T-shirt quilt a rest while I wait for the next 50% coupon from JoAnn’s. I need more Pellon but at $3 a yard, I will wait for the coupon. I have already used over 15 yards.

  9. BJ says:

    hey! I am from Carbondale, IL. So cool to see a Saluki shirt-go SIU!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi BJ. I did my sophomore year at SIU in Carbondale. I was there from Fall 1963 through Spring 1964. Such a beautiful campus. I think of it every spring when it rains and the air is so fresh.

  10. Betty says:

    Very pretty pillow cases!!!

Leave a Reply

