Recycle # 2: Making A T-Shirt Quilt

I could kick myself!! Year after year, I have purged my closets and drawers of things I wasn’t wearing or had no intention of ever wearing again. Stuff too small or too big. Out of style, out dated. Too young looking. Too this or too that. A lot of those giveaways were tee shirts. Many from my old jobs.

Now I wish I still had them, since I am making a t-shirt quilt. I saved a few from our travels and those I didn’t want to part with. Such as Gucci and Titanic. I think I have enough to make a lap quilt.

First, I gathered them up.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I immediately started cutting. Probably not the best idea. But I was anxious to see how the colors would blend and how I would arrange them.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

OK. They looked ok to me. So I took them off my design wall and tossed the cut pieces into the washing machine. I washed them with Shout Color Catcher, which BTW, is GREAT!! If you haven’t purchased it yet. Do go buy some. I was very happy with the result. No problems. Just look at the before and after sheets. Amazing!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Anyhoo… back to it not being the best idea to cut before washing. The edges curled. Big time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

And ironing didn’t straighten the edges out. Oh well. Too late now. I am being careful not to burn my fingers as I unroll the edges as I iron on the facing.

That is where I am now. Ironing on the facing. Then I will trim the sections into squares and put them back up on my design wall.

I bought the cutest material for the sashing and the back. I was looking for something with a “travel” theme since most of the t-shirts are from somewhere. The fabric has helicopters on it. Close enough. And it has different shades of blue. Most of my t-shirts are navy so it should work out ok.

Feels good to recycle/repurpose these t-shirts. Not only will the quilt keep my knees warm, it will take me on a trip every time I look at it. Down Memory Lane.


(Did you notice these up there on my design wall? Be still my heart!!) 😀

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

3 comments on “Recycle # 2: Making A T-Shirt Quilt

  1. I have been thinking of doing this too. Been looking on the internet for other things to do with the scraps left over. I’m thinking I’ll make a patchwork jacket with each square embroidered. We’ll see. I’ll be watching how yours turns out and be glad to hear the tips you pass on.

    Great project!

  2. Gaby says:

    Is missing a t shirt with the inscription(?Âż) “This year’s dozen” 🙂

  3. Maria Teresa D. Valente says:

    Bom dia, agradecemos as postagens lindas que nos envia e aproveitamos para desejar uma feliz e abençoada PÁSCOA, abraços carinhosos de Maria Teresa

Leave a Reply

