Quilt Top Is Finished!! Making A Piano Key Border.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Did you know the trick in preventing your long fabric strips from starting to curve is sewing one strip top to bottom and the next strip bottom to top? Keep alternating as you add more strips. I read this somewhere. And it works!!

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I had seen these Piano Key borders on the net and really liked them. I cut mine 1 1/2″ wide to the WOF. (Now I am showing off, LOL!! If you don’t know sewer lingo, WOF means Width Of Fabric. I am learning sooo much.) Sewed the fabrics together and then cut them into 5 1/2″ lengths. There’s 65 keys per quilt side. For a total of 260.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Quilt top measures 80 1/2″ by 80 1/2″.

It completely covers a full sized bed with about an 8″ hang. If I make this design again, I will add two more rows. 15 instead of 13 so it hangs down a bit longer.

My silly camera won’t reduce small enough for me to photograph the entire quilt top. I need to be further back to get it all but the room is too small.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now I am going to make a few pillow cases with the left over lavender and white polka dot fabric. And maybe one in the dark purple print.

My next project is in the washer. Will tell you about it tomorrow. πŸ˜€

9 comments on “Quilt Top Is Finished!! Making A Piano Key Border.

  1. Debra says:

    I love it Donna! I’ve never been much of a purple fan but you’ve made this look really good. πŸ™‚ The borders are a great touch.

  2. It really turned out beautifully. I love the fabrics you chose too.

  3. Crystal says:

    My birthday is still a few months away… but feel free to send it to me now! LOL πŸ˜‰

    (LOVE it!)

  4. Betty says:

    Donna

    That quilt is just beautiful. You really out did yourself this time. I like your little quilting lingo!

  5. maria K says:

    You are amazing! This looks incredible, and with pillow cases too! You helped me get over my fear of beeding (just jump in and if it doesn’t work start over), and this may just get me over my fear of quilting…maybe I will start with a dolls quilt;)

  6. don_mae says:

    Thank you, thank you. Thank you all.

    Last night I made a pillowcase. It came out so cute that I plan to make more.

    Crystal, I HAVE your address!! πŸ˜€

    Maria, I do hope you will try it. I was afraid of using a rotary cutter but I bought the Klutz glove and haven’t had a problem. BUT I never cut without putting the glove on first. Try it. If you make mistakes, learn from them. Like I am doing.

  7. Tanya says:

    As always, Donna, this project is just beautiful!
    I LOVE the colors and how the whole quilt top is constructed.
    Do you machine sew your quilt tops to the quilt bottoms? I just wondered. Thank you.

    • don_mae says:

      How did I miss this question!! Yes, Tanya, I do my own machine quilting. Wish I could afford a LongArm Quilter but for now, being on a Social Security Budget, it is just me and my Janome. πŸ˜€

  8. it looks beautiful. Well done on the piano key border. I must admit I tend to use scraps for my piano key borders and its a really intricate process getting it together. Your way seems a lot faster.

Leave a Reply

