New Purple Quilt And Piano Keys

Ever have something on your mind and you can’t stop thinking about it?

Well, that is what happened with this fabric I showed you about a week ago. I wanted to work on my UFO’s. And I wanted to cut into these purple and lavender fabrics. Cutting won out. 169 squares. 5 1/2″ each.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I don’t know if this design has a name. Probably. But I don’t know what it is called. I’ll just call it The Purple Steps. Here are all of the squares up on my design wall. They take up just about all of the space. I had to use my step stool to reach the top. So far, it measures 68″ by 68″. Thirteen rows. 13 squares per row.

Mainly, I wanted to go with this design to test my “lining up” skills. To see if they had improved. I know NOT to IRON the pieces. Just lay the iron on the seams and not go back and forth. That has helped tremendously in not ending up with wonky fabric.

And I am being careful to keep the fabric straight as I sew with my quarter inch foot. No user errors!! I think I lined them up pretty good this time. I only had problems with a few squares.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I even put sticky notes on each row notating which to iron left and which rows to iron right. This helped line up the seams properly. All squares are sewn together. I sewed a row at a time.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

Now…… I have to decide on the border. Or borders. I am going to do Piano Keys for one of the borders. Haven’t decided on which fabric to use for the second border. But I am leaning toward the lavender and white polka dots. I like the look. Bright and fresh encapsulating the darker fabrics. BTW, I decided to use the fuchsia for the back and a little bit of it to make the piano keys pop.

Image Hosting by PictureTrail.com

I should be finished with the quilt top in a couple days. Then I can work on the recycle projects I have planned for this month.

10 comments on “New Purple Quilt And Piano Keys

  1. Victoria says:

    Hi,

    I’ve read this post in another blog and inmediatelly i thought of you and your wonderful and endless creativity…. i guess you could like to take a looK:

    http://honestlywtf.com/art/sarah-applebaum

    Congratulations for your nice work.. and let me say that i adored what you did to your handkerchiefs!!!… so creative your mind….
    thanks

    saludos

  2. Hi Donna
    Its just beautiful. I’m not good at lining blocks up correctly so your tips will be helpful.

    Beautiful, and not just because its purple!!

  3. Crystal says:

    Now you just KNOW you’ll get no argument from me no matter how you arrange THIS group of fabrics – ALL are my favorite colors! 🙂

    Looking gorgeous, Donna!:-D

  4. digipicsphotography says:

    Looks beautiful! You are doing great!

  5. digipicsphotography says:

    You’ve given me a couple of ideas. After I finish quilting Devon’s quilt, I’m going to do a rag quilt. Now I have a few ideas for the back. Thanks.

  6. don_mae says:

    Hi everyone. Thank you so much. Your comments mean a lot to me.

    I have the polka dot border pinned and ready to sew. And the piano key strips are cut and ready to be sewn too. I am loving how it is turning out. 😀

  7. Betty says:

    The colors and pattern are just beautiful. Enioy!!

  8. Betty (Nana) says:

    I knew you had a Titanic Collection, but I did not know your collection was titanic! Amazing!
    The purple steps/piano keys quilt is going to be awesome!
    I do love how you play with colors.
    Hope you have an awesome weekend!

    • don_mae says:

      Hi Nana!! Thanks much. I am loving sewing quilt tops.

      Yep, I have a huge Titanic collection. If you look at my photos, you will see duplicates of some stuff.

      2 mousepads. Identical.
      2 T shirts. Identical.
      2 calendars. Identical.
      2 VHS sets. Identical.
      2 movie scripts. Identical.

      I guess I didn’t want anyone else to buy them. 😀

Leave a Reply

